AppleTV versus Android box from CDR King

Discussion in 'Apple TV' started by Bruce Hall, Jan 12, 2013.

1. Bruce Hall

Bruce Hall Member

I saw this Android TV box at CDR King and am wondering if I should get this or an AppleTV.

The Android box is obviously cheaper and has some internal storage so that I don't have to rely upon the spotting internet connection here.

Apple is, well, Apple. The quality I can count on and it will work seamlessly with all our Apple products. I have zero experience with Android and so I don't know how easily it will communicate with my Macs over our wireless network. I also have zero experience using Apple TV.

I am tempted to get the Android box because of the storage and price.

2. Mad Mac

Mad Mac Active Member

From what I understand, a fast internet connection is key to using these devices. These boxes are gateways to internet media. If you will be playing saved media, perhaps you are better off with a media player.

3. moipogi

moipogi Member

If you want storage, there's a seller in eBay US that sells modded Apple TV Gen 1 that has 500GB of storage. Very neat conversion, as I bought one myself and it works perfectly.

4. Bruce Hall

Bruce Hall Member

I don't want a lot of storage. Just enough for one or two movies. In essence think of it as a 1-movie cache. I can store the movies long-term on my external HD or iMac. The internet connection just is not as smooth as need be for pure streaming.

5. mcmarc

mcmarc Member

Chuo-ku, Tokyo, Japan | Livingston TX, USA | Manil
    If it can play 1080p and has surround sound I do not see why you shouldn't consider getting one.

Make sure it either supports optical out or HDMI 1.4 ARC for good surround sound

Whether apps is a consideration is up to you.

--

A cheaper alternative is if your TV has a USB slot then the better way is to have a drive plugged directly onto your TV rather than a separate media box.