WiFi Calling: Globe or Smart

Discussion in 'iPhone and iPod Touch' started by Adarna, Oct 5, 2016.

  1. jetan

    jetan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    call the platinum hotline
     
  2. jetan

    jetan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    1,902

    they're not offering either you ask for it before they switch it to you account.
     
  3. unknowngreats

    unknowngreats Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Globe VoLTE and WIFI calling services are provisioned to select subscribers only, mostly Platinum accounts. If you’re a plat subscriber, it is still not a guarantee that you’ll get provisioning, but you can maybe request it from your RM. If you have a very good RM, then there’s a good chance your request can be granted. This is because they’re still testing both features. VoLTE on iPhone created a disruption in service where provisioned numbers don’t receive incoming calls, “The number you dialled is incorrect” error happens.
     
  4. neilrg

    neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    353
    *cries in non-Platinum plan* :cry:
     
  5. Aargh

    Aargh PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    447
    Gender:
    Male
    Anyone have globe wifi calling activated outside NCR?
     
  6. neilrg

    neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    353
    Okay so I was able to file a request for the alignment of VoLTE and VoWiFi for my account through the GlobeOne app. The rep who called me saw that it’s currently disabled for my account. Fingers crossed that the backend actually enables it in 1-2 business days.
     
  7. Shinahashirome

    Shinahashirome Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas, Manila
    May I know the specific steps that you took for this? I was trying to figure out how to do this in the globeOne app. Thanks!
     
  8. neilrg

    neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    353
    You can send your request in the app under Menu > Help & Support > Send us your concern > Network concern > I want to report a VoLTE and VoWiFi problem. I indicated that my signal still switches to 3G whenever I make a call and that I’m not seeing the VoWiFi indicator. :)
     
  9. Shinahashirome

    Shinahashirome Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas, Manila
    Thank you for the tip. I'll do this!
     
  10. gino0112

    gino0112 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Pasig, PH
    I just noticed that my Smart Prepaid account got the VoWiFi signal.
     
  11. macxchange

    macxchange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati City
    I’ve been on Globe VoWIFI and VoLTE for a month now and I don’t see any major improvements on my part. Living on high rise condo and I still don’t get to sustain calls. I still get drop calls. So don’t get too excited with this.
     
  12. King

    King PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    433
    In my mind the the weakest link will always cause problems.

    Like you're on VoWIFI and VoLTE but the person you are calling is not.

    It's like FaceTime Audio calling someone on PLDT Fiber account from a PLDT Fiber account. Audio quality is exceptional.

    FaceTime Audio call someone someone on Converge Fiber to PLDT Fiber and audio quality suffers a lot.
     
    #92 King, Oct 18, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020
    raypin likes this.
  13. Dgame12345

    Dgame12345 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    29
    how did you activate your globe vowifi and volte?
    are you in business or platinum plan?
     
  14. Shinahashirome

    Shinahashirome Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas, Manila

    I agree with this. Audio quality is exceptional when facetime audio calls are connected through PLDT fiber for both parties. Quality usually suffers when I use mobile data (of course signal coverage and congestion will also be factored in this).
     
  15. King

    King PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    433
    Gets worse if the person on LTE is moving. You end up switching to cellular calls via 2G to get something useable.

    My 2nd attempt to apply for VoLTE & VoWiFi was approved.

    Waiting for my provisioning.
     
    AVG and Shinahashirome like this.
  16. macxchange

    macxchange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,021
    Likes Received:
    149
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati City
    I was part of the list who are testing it. :)
     
    #96 macxchange, Oct 18, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020
  17. eag

    eag PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    684
    I see the Smart VoWiFi logo and am wondering, what’s the actual benefit?
    It doesn’t charge call minutes to my plan? Better call quality? Can I make calls over WiFi even if I’m in airplane mode with WiFi on?
     
  18. Shinahashirome

    Shinahashirome Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas, Manila
    1. It charges to you allotted call minutes (the same way when you make a call through cellular)
    2. Improved call quality (only if both the caller and the one being called are using VoWiFi, VoLTE, or a mixture of both)
    3. Yes, you can make outgoing calls in airplane mode as long as you are connected to WiFi. This is most helpful for areas with low to no signal coverage but with a stable WiFi internet connection (Like in resorts or mountain cabins where DSL or Fiber connected WiFi are available but no cellular signal).
    What I'm not sure is if you can receive incoming calls in airplane mode.
     
    raypin likes this.
  19. King

    King PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,377
    Likes Received:
    433
    #99 King, Oct 19, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
  20. jetan

    jetan PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    yes you can.
     
    Shinahashirome likes this.

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!