White Santa Rosa Macbook 500GB Upgrade: Possible?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by gabster_26, May 9, 2009.

  1. gabster_26

    gabster_26 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Hi guys!

    I'm planning to upgrade my Santa Rosa white Macbook (the midlevel one) from 120gb to 500GB and push the RAM to 4GB.

    However I was inquiring at iStudio in Vmall today and they said the MacBook can't take 500GB - at best, 320 gigs, to be safe, 250. Is this true? If so, what's the best option? Go with the 320? Stay safe at 250? Or keep the 120 and just buy an external 500? :eek:

    Thanks so much for the help. I'm off to grad school in the US in July, which is why I'm maxing out my laptop.:rolleyes:
     
  2. mig

    mig Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    6
    it'll work.
     
  3. j6l_hanopol

    j6l_hanopol Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati-Fairview-Mandaluyong
    Some of us here macbook user even the Late2006 Macbook Model can carry out 500gb . So for me its nothing to be afraid of. If you're a bit confused, you can just upgrade to 320Gig. RAM to 4Gig absolutely okay on Santa Rosa chipsets macbook.
     
  4. gabster_26

    gabster_26 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Thanks guys! The iStudio guy said the motherboard might not be able to take 500 gigs, it might slow down the system's performance. :p Have any of you experienced this?

    Glad to hear there's not much cause for concern. :)
     
  5. Kiko

    Kiko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Pampanga/ Bulacan
    mid level early 2007 here, not even the sta rosa but the 500gb is working fine.
     
  6. nnchong

    nnchong Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pasig City
    my macbook is the late-2006 model and i installed my 500gb hard drive since late last year (from the stock 80gb, i installed a 320gb before the 500gb). So far, no problems. BTW, i installed it myself including the RAM (from 1gb to 3gb). :)
     
  7. gabster_26

    gabster_26 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Hehe, thanks for all the feedback guys! Looks like I'll be getting that 500GB drive very soon. :)

    That iStudio guy really put a dent in my plans for a while, LOL.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!