What computer / laptop do you use ?

Discussion in 'Graphic Designers' started by jorizh09, Jun 6, 2014.

1. jorizh09

jorizh09 Member

Hi Philmuggers and fellow designers, newbie here. I'm just wondering what machine do you use for your design projects and what do you suggest?

I'm currently planning to upgrade my laptop into something more powerful and futureproof. ;) I'm currently using an Asus K43sj from way back 2011: Corei3 2.1Ghz, 8GB ram, 1GB VRAM. It's not that bad but I have been struggling with overheating issues for the past months now even under 20C temp room.

Thanks,
    Jon

2. raypin

raypin PhilMUG Addict Member

Mmm......a built-to-order MacBook Air (portability, long battery life) or a MacBook Pro (more processing or computing power) plus Wacom digitizer. Those are the best options, not just for design work but other professional applications.

3. rowinms

rowinms Member

Was hsing a macbook 13" retina, but have to change to mba 13" this week. The retina is just slow and heavy

4. porkypork

porkypork Active Member

I expect the rMBP to be heavier than the MBA but I don't think it's as slow or even slower?

5. warmgreentea

warmgreentea PhilMUG Addict Member

I think the retina MBPs should be of equal, if not, faster than their MBA counterparts. But for me, I'd go with a Macbook Air. Simple reasons: weight, battery life, and the resolution of MBA is adept to graphic designers. Having a rMBP for my graphic work, my softwares (like A-CS6) and a lot of websites looks very low-res jagged; it is hard to work with that resolution (I always have to adjust the display). If I didn't buy a rMBP, I'd probably get an Air.

A friend of mine owns an 11inch MBA and he designs really well with it, and once he gets home he just hooks it up on his 27inch cinema display and continues his work there. He's very happy with it and his works are to be awed of, he got the 8gig ram 256gig ssd variant. :)

6. jorizh09

jorizh09 Member