Warning: iMac 17" LCD single vertical line issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by booblanco, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. booblanco

    booblanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque
    Just last night when I woke my 17" 2GHz iMac C2D from sleep, a single yellow vertical line with a width of about one pixel suddenly appeared on the screen from out of nowhere. I've tried reinstalling the latest Leopard combo and graphics updates, zapped PRAM, reset PMU and massaged the LCD to no avail. My AC power source has all the requisite surge suppressors and voltage regulators, so power should not have been a cause.

    I've gone to AppleDiscussions only to find out that there were also many users who experienced the same thing with their 17" iMac G5 w/ iSight, 17" PowerBooks and a couple of iMac CDs. There was no solution to fix the LCD except to exercise the warranty, which in my case had unfortunately already expired. Users have even complained at the forum with the way Apple's been silent about this issue, going as far as saying that Apple's even "censored" or "downplayed" reports of these defects. I don't know much about this matter, but that's what they posted.

    Affected users at the thread posted their serial numbers and traced the defective units to Apple's factory at Shanghai, China. My iMac was a week 33 (September) 2006 release with a serial number beginning with W8***** - same as affected users at the forum. They even went on to say that the problem starts with a single vertical line but will worsen with more lines in the weeks ahead.

    The extended AppleCare warranty is looking pretty good on hindsight right now and I am just awaiting the cost of replacing my iMac's LCD by Ynzal. If it's more than P25T, I'm afraid I'll have to live with this vertical yellow line and just save up for the next iMac.

    It seems there's no way to avoid this problem other than purchasing an AppleCare and I highly recommend everyone to get one.

    Just a heads-up. Here's a screenshot:


    [​IMG]
     
    #1 booblanco, Feb 19, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2008
  2. badw33d

    badw33d Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PH
    a very good hardware issue.
     
  3. Chito Limson

    Chito Limson Unfrozen…
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    850
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Miles ahead of you
    Hi booblanco, I have the same W8*** series as yours, but mine is a C2D 2.0 GHz. Where do I find the 'release' info? I don't have the problem you reported, thankfully, but one can't ever tell...
     
  4. booblanco

    booblanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque
    our machines are the same, soloworx.

    here's the link for more info on your mac:
    http://www.chipmunk.nl/klantenservice/applemodel.html
     
  5. Chito Limson

    Chito Limson Unfrozen…
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,980
    Likes Received:
    850
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Miles ahead of you
    Thanks, boo...

    This is what I got:

    Serial number: W8***********
    Name: iMac Intel (core duo)
    Model: Mxxxx iMac Intel (core 2 duo) 2.0GHz
    Bus speed: 667MHz
    Screen size: 17 inch
    Factory: W8 (Shanghai China)

    Model introduced: 2006
    Production year: 2006
    Production week: 48 (December)
    Production number: 9682 (within this week)

    I wonder if our Macs have the LG-Philips LCD (from an article I read somewhere back)?
     
  6. loko__loko

    loko__loko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,176
    Likes Received:
    39
    ours is core duo bought Feb 2006... replaced the lcd 2X already... good thing there's applecare

    first appeared on the 13th month... and the 2nd appeared after 2weeks it was replaced.

    note: it has 1 line then becomes several in days.. until it was fully covered w/ lines...

    LCD replacement stocks took them 2week.
     
  7. booblanco

    booblanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque
    that's just about right because users at AppleDiscussions report this happening at the 13th to 15th month.

    this issue could affect secondary market (second hand) sales of macs without AppleCare.

    here's a link to an online petition to Apple:
    http://www.petitiononline.com/maclines/petition.html
     
    #7 booblanco, Feb 19, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2008
  8. Bogey

    Bogey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Richmond, BC/Greenhills
    this same vertical line phenom also happened to my PB 12" 1,5 Ghz. I also didn's have applecare then. The lines are about 20 right now. I;m using an external monitor with it.
    After that hard lesson, I immediately bought Applecare for my iMac 17" CDuo, Macbook Core Duo, and Mac Mini Core Duo
     
  9. ona3

    ona3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Imac recently showed this vertical line, not one but 2 lines.

    Good thing I have the Apple care plan extended warranty work for me.

    But still it pisses me off.

    -----------------------------------
    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac5,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 4 MB
    Memory: 1 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: IM51.0090.B09
    SMC Version: 1.8f2
    Serial Number: W8**********
     
  10. arielaquino@mac.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    222 v. mapa street, davao city
    same here 3 lines now on my imac 17 in 2.0
     
  11. hitme64

    hitme64 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,876
    Likes Received:
    11,526
    Location:
    Here
    hmmm...am glad no lines have appeared so far on my 4-month old iMac C2D, but has anyone ever found out what causes it?
     
  12. flash

    flash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    2 line appeared on my end. Good thing there is Apple Care. Apple Australia called and if I wanted the new model.........

    Now, I have the latest iMac model :)
     
  13. Odysseus

    Odysseus Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    Now, this thread makes me feel nervous. My iMac is now 15 month old, though I hope not to see that dreaded vertical line.

    Serial number: W8XXXXXXXXX
    Name: iMac Intel (core duo)
    Model: Mxxxx iMac Intel (core 2 duo) 2.0GHz
    Bus speed: 667MHz
    Screen size: 17 inch
    Factory: W8 (Shanghai China)
    Model introduced: 2006
    Production year: 2006
    Production week: 48 (December)
    Production number: 9757 (within this week)
     
  14. kalbs

    kalbs Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good for you... How to go about this replacement??
     
  15. carloslegarda

    carloslegarda Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Manila
    Have any of you tried using an external monitor with your iMacs? If lines don't appear on the external monitor then the line probably is a result of a defective screen. If the lines also appear on the external screen then it's probably the video card at fault.
     
  16. booblanco

    booblanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque
    according to the threads at AppleDiscussions, this issue has been traced to a particular factory in China. on typical LCDs, the vertical line issue can be fixed by adjusting a jammed inverter cable or its replacement. the thing with the iMac C2D (inverters for the old G5 iMac are available at eBay), is that there's no available replacement inverter cable anywhere even via authorized resellers (if you come across one, please do tell).

    maybe Apple just really wants us to replace the entire LCD.
     
  17. arielaquino@mac.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    222 v. mapa street, davao city
    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac5,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: IM51.0090.B09
    SMC Version: 1.8f2
    Serial Number: W8xxxxxxxxxx
    same serial number starting W8.....................help!!!!!!!!!
     
    #17 [email protected], Apr 24, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2008
  18. flash

    flash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sent it for repair and the next thing I knew Apple Australia called me :)
     
  19. chairman

    chairman Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Juan
    Oh no.... this just happened to us right now. The iMac that we use for work developed that line today.... This really sucks.. Here's the details of our iMac

    Serial number: W86354GQVUX
    Name: iMac Intel (core duo)
    Model: Mxxxx iMac Intel (core 2 duo) 2.0GHz
    Bus speed: 667MHz
    Screen size: 17 inch
    Factory: W8 (Shanghai China)

    Model introduced: 2006
    Production year: 2006
    Production week: 35 (September)
    Production number: 5192 (within this week)

    The bad thing is that this doesn't have AppleCare....... Grrrr......

    Guys, I'm a believer na talaga of AppleCare good thing I got one for my MacBook Pro before the original warranty expired.
     
  20. mikeypunch

    mikeypunch Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    I got a similar problem here with my iMac G4 15'...boo! Can I use an external monitor for my system here?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!