Upgrading to Leopard

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by sparrowhawk, Jul 2, 2008.

1. sparrowhawk

sparrowhawk Member

Hi guys, I'm still a newbie here. So, the thing is I want to upgrade my macbook pro os into leopard. So, i borrowed my friend's macbook installer disk (which is already a leopard version) and I tried to installed it in my laptop. however, a message appears that i can't do it?

Why?

2. Mocha.Frap

Mocha.Frap Active Member

It's a macbook installer disk(that came with the macbook). It isn't the retail version of Mac OS 10.5. Which means, the only guy who can use that disk is your friend :D

3. sparrowhawk

sparrowhawk Member

oh.... That's harsh. So, I can't just rely on any other installer disk.. So, I really have to get a copy of the Leopard installer itself then. Thanks! :)

4. rdy0329

rdy0329 PhilMUG Addict Member

yeah, COPY..... and Get in a sentence :D

5. PatrickGaerlan

PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

That's right. The install discs that are included with a Mac is usually model-specific, it will only work with Macs that are the exact same model. What you want is the retail (boxed) version of Leopard, it's what you need to upgrade any Mac that did not come with Leopard in the box.

6. alistair

alistair Member

You might be able to 'work around' this if the old MBP model you want to upgrade has the same/similar specs (as in, video card, etc) with the new MBP model that came with Leopard.

NOTE: Blah blah blah... we do not condone piracy... blah blah... terms of use... blah blah.

Now that's aside - I had a 1-year old 2.4 GHz MBP that came with Tiger when I bought it. Got a new MBP a month ago, same 2.4GHz model but it came with Leopard.

Before giving away my old MBP I thought about installing Leopard on it. In short, it is technically possible. I don't know if it violates any EULA (which are legally controversial anyway) or whatnot.