Unintentional Deauthorization of Machine for Playing Protected AAC's

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by alfiesy, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. alfiesy

    alfiesy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati City
    Just found out the hard way that the following things result in unintentional deauthorization (i.e. you will have to consume another 1 of 5 of your authorizations to reactivate) of your machine to play iTunes purchased protected AAC's:
    1.) replacing the motherboard of your Macbook Pro (had mine changed twice because of faulty logic board)
    2.) doing a complete restore of system and user files via Time Machine
    3.) transferring all your files to a new machine (remember to deauthorize old machine before disposing / erasing files on it.)

    I've consumed 4 out of 5 of my authorizations unintentionally because of the above. Thought I'd share the experience so that others may avoid encountering the same problem.

    P.S.

    Read on the Apple support site that I need to wait out the year before resetting my authorized machine count. Any way of getting around this?
     
    #1 alfiesy, Nov 24, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2007
  2. Macmon

    Macmon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    QC
    If you log in to your account in itunes You can reset/deauthorize all your machines and have it set back to 0. I did this way back but not sure if they changed the policy
     
    #2 Macmon, Nov 24, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2007
  3. alfiesy

    alfiesy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati City
    You can only do this once a year. I've unintentionally used up my machine count because of logic board replacements and Time machine restore.
     
  4. Nino

    Nino Loading...
    Staff Member PhilMUG Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    This Apple KB article covers everything you need to know about the iTunes Store authorization and deauthorization.

    Make sure that you de-authorize your computer before you send it in for service, especially if the logic board needs to be replaced. Deauthorize all Computers option once per year still applies till now, there is no other workaround for this policy, however Apple do give special considerations depends on the situation. You can plead your case through Apple Support help form for a deauthorize all request if needed.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!