Time Machine Bug

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by surgfish, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. surgfish

    surgfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Hi! Anyone experience this time machine bug? Everythime it backups my system, it places a folder saying a backup of ...., at the end of the day, there are loads of empty folder icons on my desktop. I have to manually delete them.
     
  2. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,998
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    that's weird, don't have that problem. only thing i really don't understand about TM is why it takes up sooo much space! my 500g WD is already 85% full but used space on my mac hd is only 210g
     
  3. bacchus_3

    bacchus_3 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,805
    Likes Received:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    @surgfish, how about trying to rebuild your TM backup?

    @Theus, it does incremental back-ups hourly, daily and weekly. You may have big files that you update often eating up the other half of your WD. Technically, even if you have a 120GB HD it would still eat up your 500GB over time as Time Machine setting will delete old back-ups if it runs out of space. It works differently compared to Super Duper and Carbon Copy Cloner.
     
  4. surgfish

    surgfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    how do you rebuild ur TM backup? This happened after I updated to latest firmware of AE
     
  5. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Well, because TM by default also keeps a backup of ALL the files you've deleted. It'll keep doing this until you run out of space on your backup drive, then it starts deleting the oldest backups. That's why I configured TM to NOT backup my Podcasts folder in iTunes, that would probably add a few GBs daily. Check if there are a lot of unimportant files that you think you've trashed, or moved out of your Mac, but TM is backing up.
     
  6. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    One way I know of is to delete the backup disk image in your external hard disk.
     
  7. iLisa

    iLisa Account Suspended
    ERASED FROM EXISTENCE

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello.

    i was told i shouldn't include applications, library and system in the time machine backup, since all of those can easily be reinstalled anyway. you might want to start over and reconfigure your tm to backup only your home folder.

    i hope this helps
     
  8. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    You'll probably want to keep the Library and System folders backed up. If you don't, be prepared to spend a lot of time re-installing and re-configuring your Mac OS X and apps settings if you suffer a hard disk failure. I think not backing up those folders kinda defeats the purpose of TM, which is supposed to let you easily recover from a hard disk disaster. Unless you're really short on external hard disk space, I also recommend backing up your Applications folder.
     
  9. acid

    acid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Edit the Preferences of your time machine and there is a part there where you can list the folders that will be excluded when the time machine back up again. If you are using Mail application you have to exclude it from the back up because it eats up a lot of space too.

    You can also erase the old back ups so that you can reuse the disk space.
     
  10. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,998
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    thanks for the info guys. will check these out shortly.
     
  11. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    Pat, I exclude all folders like iLisa. Only the Users folder is being backed up.

    I just helped a client restore all her files into a new Mac using Time Capsule and Migration Assistant. In her TC, I excluded the root folders Application, System and Library. No problems were encountered. To me, the information contained in the system Library is not as vital as the information in a user's own Library in the Home folder.

    I Just discovered that my wife's TM file was already a whopping 300GB, so last night, I went into the TC with Airport Utility and used the ERASE function. IOW, I'm starting over again, even for my MBA's backup, which was a reasonable 30GB only. I didn't have to reconfigure the setup, all the previously listed excluded folders (including my user account on her iMac), were still listed. It's taking a while to finish her first backup though, since the iMac's HD is around 70GB in size.
     
  12. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Thanks, it's good to know that if you really need to exclude some folders because of space constraints, TM will still be pretty useful.

    Personally, I just have TM set to backup everything (except downloads and podcasts) because, with my terrible luck with hard disks, I want to be able to get up and running after a hard disk failure in the shortest possible time.
     
  13. raypin

    raypin PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    14,790
    Likes Received:
    8,008
    I agee!! too much space made me rethink about using TM.
    Now I turned off TM after doing 1 backup on my lacie.

    too long, too much and not worth it.
     
  14. surgfish

    surgfish Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Hey, anyone knows how to help my problem? I've got 1 TB if HD space, so I dont care if its 300GB, My problem is the annoying folder on my desktop TM makes after each backup. At the end of the day, empty folder icons are all over my desktop
     
  15. acid

    acid Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Try to reconfigure your TM by turning it off and on. Then reselect the disk for you to back up.
     
  16. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,998
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    i think i'll stick to this first. btw, reformated my WD HDD and ran TM again, now my ext HDD is back to being 44% full only.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!