The Photographer's Learning Thread: Ask Me Anything

Discussion in 'Photographers' started by LeoCastillo, Feb 24, 2013.

1. LeoCastillo

LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member

Many of you know that I've been teaching Photography for a while. Heck, I got into PhilMUG because someone made a thread on my Photoworks classes!

Anyway, I decided that I can go beyond my classes in teaching photography, so I'm making this thread a little experiment.

Ask me anything... and let me see if I can help. Worst case, I'm sure there are others there who can share their knowledge too.

Leo

P.S. Just in case, my credentials. I've been shooting and teaching photography in 11 years. In addition, I've been a learning and development professional for longer than that. I've been published in a few magazines, but my work as an L&D professional is so much more lucrative, I shoot mostly for my personal work.

#1 LeoCastillo, Feb 24, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  2. macosx

macosx Member

Are the micro four thirds as good as the DSLR?

3. LeoCastillo

LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member

That depends on what you mean by good.

ALL cameras can take good photos. I have a few in my portfolio that were published despite being taken with a point and shoot camera.

As an example, I've been taking a lot of P&S shots lately, using my Olympus TG-1.

Here's some when I helped out Manny Librodo with his workshop late last year. Most of those shots are practically straight out of camera : Ultimate Boudoir | Leo Castillo Photography

You'll see more of my underwater work on the same site, which surprise, was taken with a P&S camera.

And it's not just me. The great Jun de Leon for example, had a wonderful photo exhibit using a Sony Ericsson cellphone. Terry Richadson, one of the top fashion photographers in the world, took photos for the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition using a point and shoot camera.