Stuck at Apple Logo

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by kmtanmd, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. kmtanmd

    kmtanmd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    QC
    Hello sirs...

    I need your opinion/help on this...

    I just recently restarted my macbook (black) and all of a sudden it got stuck with the apple logo and the radial icon turning underneath the logo.

    What could be wrong? Is there anyway I can override this? Thank you very much!

    Lookin' forward to your replies.
     
  2. abcdee

    abcdee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA LA Land
    Re: Help for the Black Macbook

    have you tried inserting your recovery disc, boot from it and repair disk permission? you can also try booting in verbose (command + v) and see where it hangs on boot up.
     
  3. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: Help for the Black Macbook

    Remove and clean your ram contacts. Reinstall.
     
  4. kmtanmd

    kmtanmd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    QC
    thanks for the reply sirs

    I tried verbose (cmd+v).

    It got stock on (vmnet: netif-vmnet8: Adding protocol 2)

    What could've gotten wrong? THANKS!

    Where do i get the recovery disk? thanks!
     
  5. panis

    panis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon city
    try inserting your installation disk and boot from it, then repair disk permissions.

    try to boot on safe mode and see what happens. If you are successful then chances are it would be okay the next time you boot.

    if it still fails, try mad mac's suggestion. It might be a ram problem because the same thing happened to my macbook black before. It happened so many times until I had to replace one ram, which was defective.
     
  6. abcdee

    abcdee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LA LA Land

    if i'm not mistaken (please correct me if i'm wrong) this vmnet came from vmware fusion - so maybe something went wrong about that app when you install it.

    as for the recovery disc, it's included in your macbook package (2 disc), just insert disc 1 and press C or alt and boot from it.

    this a good idea too if you dont have the recovery disc lying around, if your mac boots into safe mode, repair disk permission and uninstall vmware then just reinstall it again after booting normally ;)
     
    #6 abcdee, Jan 31, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
  7. kmtanmd

    kmtanmd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    QC
    ok... thank you very much
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!