Smart Communications General Thread

Discussion in 'iPhone and iPod Touch' started by neilrg, Sep 29, 2018.

  1. neilrg

    neilrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    289
    Smart has released their new Signature Plans http://smart.com.ph/Postpaid

    They seem to have just upgraded the data and call allocations, but they also included data network priority across all price plans.

    Signature SIM-Only Plans
    upload_2019-5-13_19-56-37.png

    Signature Device Plans
    upload_2019-5-13_19-57-6.png

    Data Network Prioritization
    upload_2019-5-13_19-58-11.png
     
    #81 neilrg, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  2. Adarna

    Adarna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    285
    As a comparison Globe Business has a counterpart to Smart's P999 10GB SIM-only plan but without data network priority.

    [​IMG]

    For Globe calls to other networks is 7.50/minute. And getting 100 minute calls as an add on separately is a 299/month.

    So if you call other networks for more than 40 mins/month then this is a good deal.

    Data network priority should be a postpaid-only feature.

    Cheap data on a slow network be a prepaid-only feature.
     
    #82 Adarna, May 14, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019
  3. Adarna

    Adarna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    285
    I was looking at Smart's Business plans and saw these SIM-only plans. I know the grandfathered unlimited data plans for personal Smart mobile accounts cost at least 2,499/month.

    Of course you'll need to be a business owner to avail of the plan.

    [​IMG]
     
    Juice likes this.
  4. duncan

    duncan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    58
    I wonder if the smart business enterprise plans are also priority on data.
     
  5. l7224

    l7224 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Baguio City / Manila
    I was on Plan 1999 with 12GB data, unli all-net texts, and around 60 minutes all-net calls. I am still within contract until December 2019. Went to Smart hoping to move to the Signature Plan Large (and commit to an additional 6 months) but was told I could only migrate to the Signature Device Plans. So I did. No I have an additional 3GB data, can do unli calls to Smart/Sun/TNT, has a 150 minutes for calls to other network. I’m a happy camper.
     
  6. lion0423

    lion0423 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I have an iPhone XR with Globe postpaid on the eSIM and Smart prepaid on the physical SIM. I keep getting these 2 text messages from Smart everyday, and it's irritating:

    "You're trying to access sites not included in your package OR haven't registered to one yet."

    "To check your balance and other exciting offers, dial *121# NOW! It's FREE and easy!"

    I don't know if it's an issue with the iPhone XR or an issue with Smart prepaid.

    Has anyone experienced this? Any suggestions on how to disable this?
     

    Attached Files:

  7. pennylane

    pennylane Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hi, was your expired contract an iPhone plan?

    I have an iPhone X contract that will expire this year. If I decide not to renew, I can switch to prepaid and keep my number correct? (I think there's a law that was passed last year regarding mobile numbers...)
     
  8. Juice

    Juice PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    945
    This isn't bad for a business plan, especially for those unlimited data plans. My grandfathered 3 sub plan of 999 is still going and i'm surprised it doesn't slow down even when I use 5Gb in day.
     
  9. rflores

    rflores Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    quezon city
    My contract ends this June and I like to wait for end of this year to get a new iPhone. Can I downgrade to the cheapest sim only plan after contract ends? Is that my best option?
     
  10. iSk8er

    iSk8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    13
    Anyone here under the Smart Bring Your Own Device Plan 1500? Does it Fair Usage Policy which throttles down your data speed once you’ve reached the download limit for a day (if it has anything like that)?
     
  11. Adarna

    Adarna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    285
    From a Note 9 as posted on TipidPC.

    [​IMG]

    S8

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    iSk8er likes this.
  12. iSk8er

    iSk8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    13
    Under What plan po yan?
     
  13. Adarna

    Adarna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    285
    The Smart LTE speeds are applicable from cell sites and towers with upgraded B40 LTE bands.

    Buy this modem https://www.netgear.com/support/product/AC800S_Optus.aspx

    Follow the instructions laid out at https://tipidpc.com/viewtopic.php?tid=322697 thread also shares where to buy

    Instructions below was forwarded to me.

    You can lock the frequency of the modem to B40 via telnet. then if 3CC is available in the area. it will automatically give you B40+B40+B40, you can verify this also via telnet.

    if i'm not mistaken that result is at peak hour.

    [​IMG]

    It can go as high as this off peak

    [​IMG]
     
    iSk8er and ralmon like this.
  14. galaceuriel

    galaceuriel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    My iPhone is SIM-locked to Smart. Besides going to Smart itself, where else can I go to have my phone unlocked?
     
    #94 galaceuriel, Jun 30, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2019
  15. iSk8er

    iSk8er Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    13
    You can message them on their official twitter account for the unlocking request.
     
  16. galaceuriel

    galaceuriel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't, my contract isn't up yet.
     
  17. mongkee

    mongkee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    455
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Only Smart can truly unlock your unit so you're gonna have to ride it out til the end of your contract. The "other" methods out there to unlock are just a waste of time and money

    If you really can't wait for your contract to end, only option (which is what I'd do if I were in your shoes) is to sell/trade your locked unit and get yourself a factory unlocked one
     
  18. Don Pao

    Don Pao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Metro Manila
    Hi May i suggest GPP. GPP is now improved i have tried this for months and never failed me. medyo tricky lang ang una activation you have to have the updated code.

    Bought 1 at shoppee for 120 Pesos and roughly 10 mins of time (first activation) once activated your phone is now "semi Factory unlocked" as long as you don't erase or all settings or reset newtork your good to. i have tested this from iPhone XS MAX (Smart) XS (Globe) 8plus (smart) 8 plus (globe) 6s plus (smart) 5s.

    Have recommended to friends that went to US and Canada it worked for them.
     
  19. prof_er

    prof_er Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Angeles City, Pampanga

    Can you use the esim at the same time with the physical sim slot with gpp? I got the iphone xs max from globe. Gpplte works well when esim is turned off. But once you turned on the esim, it will lock the phone to network.
     
  20. Don Pao

    Don Pao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Metro Manila
    Haven't tried the E-Sim feature yet. hopefully may work around
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!