SKY Broadband Limited Access

Discussion in 'General OT' started by ruff1025, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. ruff1025

    ruff1025 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Guys,

    Do you currently have problems accessing some sites with your Sky Broadband?

    I can't seem to access the apple sites and iTunes.

    I also can't seem to connect to World of Warcraft and Bliz sites...

    Are you guys experiencing the same problem?
     
  2. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    I posted a thread earlier about it. Yes it's a skybroadband problem. I called earlier today and they confirmed that they are having problems. Best we could do is badger them with calls in order to increase their attention to it more.
     
  3. kinse_44

    kinse_44 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,489
    Likes Received:
    797
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    can't access Playstation Network.
     
  4. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    Hey! I was able to access Apple.com just now. Tsk... It's just one part of the problem. Still can't access my mac mail or iTunes store.
     
    #4 Elx200001, Aug 10, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
  5. ruff1025

    ruff1025 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    yeah it works... but i still can't connect to blizz.
     
  6. h.chua

    h.chua Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Singapore
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    i can't seem to access my mobile me mail!!! is it skybroadband's fault??
     
  7. piedad

    piedad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,766
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Philippines
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    Try to change your DNS server settings from automatic to that of OpenDNS.com . It may even speed up your browsing experience.
     
  8. ruff1025

    ruff1025 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    i think it is...
     
  9. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    Sir Piedad, would it make any difference? It is a problem on the end of the isp...
     
  10. ruff1025

    ruff1025 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    yeah, i can't access itunes nor blizzard... sigh.
     
  11. h.chua

    h.chua Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Singapore
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    I'm already on OpenDNS.com. Hay. :(
     
  12. ruff1025

    ruff1025 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    still nothing... sigh.
     
  13. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Re: SkyBroadband Limited Access

    Mobileme and iTunes store is now up.

    EDIT: Push is also working as of now.
     
    #13 Elx200001, Aug 10, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  14. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    Hello everyone. I am reviving this old thread because I am noticing exactly what the thread title says.

    Just today, I noticed that my Sky Broadband connection at home, a P4K/mo 6Mbps unlimited plan, has been blocking torrents.

    In my torrent client, all my seeding and downloads were frozen at 0 peers.

    When I try to download torrent files, it times out.

    Even torrent magnet links result in error.

    When I tested all the above using Globe 3G (via iPhone Personal Hotspot) and Wi-Tribe (my backup internet), everything was normal.

    I then launched my VPN service while connected with SkyBroadband, and everything worked fine.

    Is it just me? Or is Sky Broadband now blocking torrent activity?
     
  15. chizbol

    chizbol Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same plan and no problem with torrents. Tho my last download was before i left at around 3pm today. What time was your last download?
     
  16. reastern

    reastern Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    ^^ After reading your post, I tried to download a torrent using my SkyBroadband internet.. It does seem like Sky is blocking the torrent download.. I left the torrent for about 5 minutes and it did not download a single kb..

    I normally download stuff but I did not notice this before since I normally use VPN while I download.. When I tried to download without using VPN, I cannot download anything.. And when I connected to the VPN, the download immediately started..
     
  17. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    I was trying to download t around 3pm
     
  18. chizbol

    chizbol Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    After i posted my reply i tried downloading and it does not seem to have any problems. Although my airport extreme is flashing amber even if i have internet. I can connect to it by wifi and by lan cable and i still have net. The error it gives me is no dns. Have you tried changing the dns on your router or mac? Opendns or google dns. That might solve it because the mac i use to download has google dns servers put in
     
  19. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    Well it still doesn't work for me, on any of my computers, as long as connected directly via Sky Broadband.
     
  20. zoo101

    zoo101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Sikatuna Village, QC
    same here... cannot download any torrent via sky broadband
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!