Shifting to a Macbook Air (Haswell 2013 Edition)

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by josefarrugia, Jun 15, 2013.

  1. josefarrugia

    josefarrugia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cebu City, Cebu
    Hi There! :) Nice to see a fellow Cebuano here. I have done my research and I found out that if you receive a damaged or dead on arrival (DOA) unit from the Apple Online Store PH, you'll be immediately sent a brand new unit within 24 hours after reporting the DOA unit.

    And I have communicated with Beyond the Box via email and they offered a tempting cash price. A massive discount compared to the selling price found on the Apple Online Store PH. The only issue is that it will take much longer compared to getting it from the online store.
     
  2. 11Finger

    11Finger Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    9
    hi guys, I've been using a MBA 11" for about a year now and have just recently ordered a BTO MBA (i7, 8GB, 512GB Flash) and more importantly will be going full blown OS X just like the OP. Anyway while waiting for my MBA I'm trying to plan for my eventual move to OS X.

    There are a couple of Windows Apps which I will be retaining but I'm looking at purchasing Parallels for that (I was going to get VMWare Fusion since it's cheaper and multi license but I read that it doesn't do as well for games). Anybody else got to try both solutions ? Aside from games support what does Parallels have over VMWare ?

    I'll be moving my iTunes library from Windows to OS X, is there a migration assistant for this ? Or do I have to do it manually ?

    One annoying thing I found with OS X is that when you copy/move a file it creates another "control"(?) file with same filename except for a "." before the name. I found this annoying as it messes up my NAS fie structure where I stream my movies. If I use a explorer on a Windows VM to organize my files will it still make the same "control" file ?
     
  3. piedad

    piedad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Philippines
    Not too happy with the wireless performance. The wifi-AC (vs. Wifi-N and BG) adapter is future ready, but for older Wifi routers, it does not work consistently. I have a Linksys WRT54G on DDWRT and I cannot get a stable connection. Now I have to tether to my iPhone to get to an internet connection. Good thing the office has a newer wifi router - no issues.
    Apple should fix this soon... lots of people not happy.
     
  4. technowar

    technowar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    Just a quick follow up question though, where will you send your DOA unit? Are you responsible for its shipping fees?

    What apps do you intend to run on your VM? Maybe, just maybe, they have OS X counterparts.

    I have used both Parallels and VMware, and both are great apps. Though I ended up using VMware. Just pick one and they'll do the job, there's no need to confuse yourself.

    Give this a try, Move Your iTunes Library to Another Hard Drive in Three Simple Steps

    Which file are you talking about?


    This always happens whenever Apple releases new notebooks. The only thing you could do is wait until they gave out patches. By the way, do you happen to encounter the Haswell's USB3.0 bug?
     
    #44 technowar, Jun 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013
  5. piedad

    piedad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Philippines


    Hmmm... I was using a CDR-King usb external drive case and it would shut down after a long while. I thought it was due to poor quality of the external drive electronics.... maybe this is related?
     
  6. technowar

    technowar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    It only happens when your machine goes to sleep while the USB external drive/flash drive is still connected. When you wake your computer, the drive will not be recognized hence you need to reconnect it.
     
  7. josefarrugia

    josefarrugia Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cebu City, Cebu


    The Apple Online Store will probably inform you to drop the DOA unit at a local authorized reseller. They take care of all the shipping fees. Check out the Sales Policy here - Sales Policies - Apple Store (Philippines)
     
  8. 650h2

    650h2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    10
    Apple allegedly looking into MacBook Air WiFi issue, replacing machines
     
  9. technowar

    technowar New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    Ahh thanks for the link.
     
  10. gdelacerna

    gdelacerna Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I'm thinking of upgrading my mac to the 2013 MBA, I'm originally coming from the 2011 MBP... What MBA model should I get?

    I'm basically using it for surfing the net, watching videos, mails and work and a couple of photo and video editing using Adobe and iMovie.

    The price of the 13" MBA is very attractive but I'm worried about the specs of it, it seems so limited.

    How about the 256GB SSD? Is it any good? Is the 4GB ram any good?

    Any 2013 MBA users here? And how's the overall performance?

    All your inputs will be appreciated.

    Thanks!

    :)
     
  11. rowinms

    rowinms Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Im using a 13" macbook air core i7 late 2013 edition. 256GB HDD and 8GB ram. This is a fast processing machine. I think for your usage, this is more than enough.
     
  12. J316

    J316 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Can a memory of MBA be upgraded?
     
  13. cybersniper

    cybersniper PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    Bacoor, Cavite
    Technically, it can be upgraded yeah...

    But MBA's mems are NOT "user-upgradeable" - they're soldered into the logicboard.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!