Safari 4 control-tab does not work

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by dakilang_waiter, Mar 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dakilang_waiter

    dakilang_waiter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I am using a MB 2ghz late 2007 running on Tiger. Pressing control-tab does not switch tabs in my Safari.

    Anyone else with the same problem? How can I fix it? Reported it already as a bug.
     
  2. kentamayo

    kentamayo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Biñan, Laguna
    Mine works..

    using a CoreDuo MBP 2.0ghz
     
  3. marckieMD

    marckieMD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    have you tried pressing command T instead?
     
  4. chetiboy

    chetiboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    command T is for making new tabs

    control tab is for switching between tabs.
    no problem with me, though i'm on leopard...

    have u tried re installing? did u enable hidden settings of safari?
     
  5. rvaph

    rvaph Active Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Manila
    Same problem with me on my Tiger iBook. Instead of switching tabs, ctrl-tab highlights the address of the current page. cmd-tab is for switching windows. Maybe it's a leopard or higher feature?
     
  6. marckieMD

    marckieMD Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    ah... ok. my bad. :)
     
  7. dakilang_waiter

    dakilang_waiter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Quezon City
    @chetiboy - What are the hidden settings of Safari 4? Didn't find any in the preferences.
     
  8. dakilang_waiter

    dakilang_waiter Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Tried reinstalling already and it still doesn't work. The old way of switching tabs still work though (cmd+shift+bracket or cmd+shift+arrow keys).

    Searched on the net, seems it really still is a problem in beta. But weird thing is people were reporting seeing different things in their "Window" menu on the key combination to switch tabs. Mine says "^ tab" and "^shift tab" to move to next and previous tab respectively.

    Do you have different key combinations?
     
  9. aikicodesurfer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maniacal Makati
    hi guys I'm using safari 4 on tiger. I saw in the mac store they have the tabs ABOVE the url bar. I was looking for the setting in preferences and I cant seem to find it. How do you move the tabs so that they stay above the url display? thanks alot :)
     
  10. ice_man

    ice_man Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal
    aikicodesurfer.. are you in Safari 4 Beta? or the full version already? Beta version has the tabs on top of the URL but the full version has the tabs under the url...
     
  11. rafaelc378

    rafaelc378 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,464
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow, I never knew about using control-tab to switch tabs. I was and still am using the command-shift-arrow key to switch tabs in Safari.
     
  12. ice_man

    ice_man Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal
    hehehe.. Raf, we do learn new things everyday huh? dagdag kaalaman to..
     
  13. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I suggest Tiger users to use Steermouse so you can just scroll left or right to change tabs. given you have a mighty mouse and settings are made in Steermouse app.
     
  14. ericklirios

    ericklirios Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    Hehe. Pasingit lang: These keyboard shortcuts work well with Opera.
     
  15. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Ctrl+Shift then right or left button will do the trick I think.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!