Resident Evil 5 on Windows 7 64 bit not working?

Discussion in 'Third party hardware, software and accessories' started by Kryptonian, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    Hello,

    RE5 = Resident Evil 5
    Win7_32bit = Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
    Win7_64bit = Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

    I have installed successfully RE5 in my Windows XP via bootcamp and there's no problem. But when I installed Win7_64bit and RE5 then RE5 won't play and yields and error message when I choose DirectX 9 button:

    D3DERR_NOTAVAILABLE:
    mpD3D->GetDeviceCaps(adapter,devicetype,&caps)


    [​IMG]


    I'm running MBP late 2009 (non-removable battery)

    NVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics processor with 256MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory

    I already tried searching for solutions in google and some say to install the latest version of DirectX 9 and update DirectX10. I already did that but the same error message appears.

    Right now, I am installing RE5 to my Toshiba Win7_32bit to see if it will work there.

    Thanks in Advance,
    Mark
     
  2. jared08evo

    jared08evo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it running extremely smoothly on my macbook pro. Bootcamp with xp. It probably has something to do with windows 7. i believe there's some sort of xp compatibility mode in windows 7.
     
  3. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    I installed Windows 7 32 Bit and the same error occurs. Hhhmm.. I might switch back to Windows XP Service Pack 2.

    Anyone here successfully installed Resident Evil 5 in Windows 7 32 or 64 bit via Bootcamp 2.2? :(
     
  4. herbertdizon

    herbertdizon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    try using bootcamp 3.0 which is included in snow leopard install disc if you're on snow leopard
     
  5. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    @herbertdizon: Oh, I was searching for a downloadable bootcamp 3. I didn't know that it is in the Snow Leopard install disc.

    EDIT:
    Hhmm I forgot to say that I am already running bootcamp 3 in my snow leopard when I installed windows 7 and I still can't run RE5 using DirectX 9 or 10.

    It didn't work :(
     
    #5 Kryptonian, Dec 8, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2009
  6. mig

    mig Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you updated your graphics card's drivers?
     
  7. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    @mig: The graphics card driver for windows 7 is already up to date and is using DirectX 11. But directx 9 is different from directx11. When I launch RE5, I think it requires the DirectX 9 based on the error message I posted.

    I downloaded a RE5 benchmark. I hope that it will work.
     
  8. konzen0666

    konzen0666 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE5 is not also running with my MBP with windows 7 64bit installed... but on a 32bit it runs ok...
     
  9. Kryptonian

    Kryptonian Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North
    I already know the solution!

    After you have installed Windows 7 - 32 or 64 Bit, insert the Snow Leopard install disc because all the updated drivers for bootcamp 3 are there and the original Leopard install disc where the bootcamp 2.2 drivers will not work in Windows 7.

    Windows 7 by default has DirectX 11 and it is different from DirectX 9. Also, the latest updated nVidia driver is in the Snow Leopard install disc.

    Oh yeah I love debugging and searching google even if it is hard because it is work related. My work is about solving problems hehe! :)

    I used the resolution 1024x768 with 3 medium settings in RE5 and the frame rate was very smooth.

    Thanks to macrumors and philmug forum. Especially to herbertdizon
    You gave me an idea and searched the macrumors forum and found that the updated / latest / correct drivers for windows 7 are in the snow leopard install disc.

    Question solved!

    Cheers! :cool:
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!