RAM upgrade...

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by sirameel, Sep 2, 2009.

  1. sirameel

    sirameel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City,Philippines/Hong Kong,China
    i have a late 2007 macbook pro with 2 gigs ddr2 ram. can i upgrade it with 4 gigs of ddr3? tnx in advance.

    btw, it is a macbook pro with 2.4ghz intel core 2 duo processor.
     
  2. bhoyetjumpay

    bhoyetjumpay Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,386
    Likes Received:
    208
    you cant put ddr3 on your mac, for late 2007 macbook pro uses 200-pin pc2-5300 (667 mhz) ddr2 so-dimm while the unibodies macbook/pro uses 204-pin pc3-8500 (1066 mhz) ddr3 so-dimm
     
  3. xedner

    xedner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO.

    dd3 ram won't fit in a ddr2 slot.. they're incompatible
    It's good you've asked before doing so...
     
    #3 xedner, Sep 2, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2009
  4. mousehole

    mousehole Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    ^^ and that's a good thing, cos a 2GB stick of ddr3 costs about P500 more than good ol' ddr2!
     
  5. sirameel

    sirameel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City,Philippines/Hong Kong,China
    ahh i see, thank you.:) sayang, i thought it is just the speed but different socket pala.
     
  6. Yagbolz

    Yagbolz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati
    i have 4gig ddr2 ram installed in my mac.. can i configure it to increase my video memory like what i'm doin' in my other lappie (hp compaq).. both have intel base video card i think..
     
  7. barre05

    barre05 Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Manila
    As already pointed out by other PhilMUGgers above, you can't use DDR3 RAM on your MBP.

    You can, however, upgrade your RAM to a max of 6 GB (2x3GB modules). Or upgrade it to 4 GB (2x2GB modules). As long as you use DDR2 667MHz RAM modules. That's according to MacTracker. :)

     
  8. Yagbolz

    Yagbolz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    74
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati
    is this only for macbook pro?
     
  9. barre05

    barre05 Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Manila
    The max RAM varies according to which MB/MBP model you have. You might want to download MacTracker to help you sort through all the models of Macs and their respective max RAMs. :)
     
  10. xedner

    xedner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know much info about your macbook's specs so this is all I could suggest...

    I believe you can't configure your graphics card memory. All you can do is upgrade your RAM to increase the allocated memory to the GPU. For example, having a 1GB ram gives you 64mb for the video memory, 2GB will give 128mb, so basically if you got 4gb ram (which you seem to have on your macbook), there's probably 512mb ram dedicated to the video memory.

    If the reason for upgrading the GPU memory is for gaming..maybe you bought the wrong laptop in the first place. I googled for ya, and found this from apple support website..something about graphics on intel based macs.

    Graphics performance
    For best graphics performance, your computer should have two same-size SO-DIMMs installed, one in each slot. When memory is installed in your Mac in same size pairs, the computer gains some performance benefits from the memory being interleaved. If you upgrade the memory in your Mac, make sure you have matching SO-DIMMs (both in memory size and speed) in each slot for the best graphics performance.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3246
     
  11. Erick

    Erick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabang
    where is the cheapest place to buy 2gb ddr2? and how much are these usually? and what will this do to my MBP? will it make it faster? TIA
     
  12. macjerk

    macjerk Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Bought my 2 (2GB DDR2) at Accent Micro for Php 1,300.
     
  13. barre05

    barre05 Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Manila
    Is that 1,300 for two pieces of 2GB DDR2 RAM modules already? That's dirt cheap! :)

    Cheapest I found last April when I upgraded my RAM was Charlie's. It was PhP 2,520 (1,400 each, less 10% for PhilMUGgers). That was last April, so I'm not sure how much it is now.
     
  14. macjerk

    macjerk Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes Php 1,300 for the 2 RAMs. Bought them last June '09.
    I got a special price from the lady because i am their "suki" :)
     
  15. Erick

    Erick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabang
    how much is it if your not a "suki" ?
     
  16. mig

    mig Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    6
    My girlfriend's mac needed upgrading and I rrdered from a TPC seller. Kingston 2gb/1350 and Transcend 2gb/1300.
     
  17. macjerk

    macjerk Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh sorry I forgot to tell you guys. I swapped my stock 2 1gb DDRs +cash which is Php 1,300 sorry for that. :redface:
     
  18. mysterio

    mysterio PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    335
    I was wondering about the ridiculously low price for 2 2GB modules. Now it's clear. :D
     
  19. eyepon

    eyepon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    1
    hi guys. can anyone hook me up where to swap my stock 2g ddr3s mbp13 mid09? i got it about 2 weeks ago and i see that spinning colored ball whenever in mac office excel. tech says i gotta improve ram

    thanks!
     
  20. barre05

    barre05 Well-Known Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Manila
    Wait, your MBP slows down with just Excel? Or are you running other programs aside from it? I think 2 GB of RAM is more than enough for Excel alone. I barely go above 2 GB when playing heavy games, and I only reach 3 GB when working with images and videos.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!