Quick excel question

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by TrackShields, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. TrackShields

    TrackShields Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    I'm totally retarded when it comes to excel. here's what happened: i have a few excel files from my mac that i exported to a flashdrive and tried modifying using a PC. i clicked on something that made all the cells with formulas show the formula instead of the values that was supposed to be the result of those formulas. now i can't make it go back to the way it was using my mac. how do i get rid of the "show formulas" mode using my mac... sadly that was the last thing i did on the PC thinking i wouldn't have problems correcting it in my mac... i was wrong. and now i don't have access to a PC. HELP!

    thanks.
     
  2. philpangandian

    philpangandian Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malate, Manila
    try command + ~ (the key before the 1 on the keyboards
     
  3. philpangandian

    philpangandian Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malate, Manila
    Wait, it's Control + ~, not Command + ~
     
  4. TrackShields

    TrackShields Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    thanks! while i was waiting for a reply, i went low tech and just made a new worksheet. cut the old cells and pasted them into the new one... nag work naman! too bad i can't try your solution anymore. :)
     
  5. bon

    bon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Yeah Ctrl-~ is actually very useful when auditing formulae on a complex worksheet model. I first discovered it by accident, just like you did. :)
     
  6. xai

    xai Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    this forum is very informative..thanks!
     
  7. philpangandian

    philpangandian Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malate, Manila
    You can still try it.. It just switch the cell views to 'normal' and 'formula' whenever you press Control~.


    Same here, by accident, about a year ago.. I love linking cells and this is so useful when formulas get complex. I also use this when my friends need help in detecting and correcting error in their formulas
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!