Problem with internet connection in Airport Extreme Base Station

Discussion in 'Time Capsule, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express' started by quasar, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. quasar

    quasar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pasig City
    Just this evening, I've unable to connect both my MBP and iMac to the internet through my Airport Extreme Base Station, even though the indicator light on the AEBS is green. I get the "cannot find server" error when I run Firefox on both Macs.

    However, when I hooked up the iMac directly to the PLDT DSL modem, I was able to connect to the internet and surf without any problems.

    I ran Airport Utility and it did not see any problem with the AEBS. Resetting the AEBS via Airport Utility did not resolve the problem. The AEBS is configured to connect to the internet via DHCP.

    Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Psynic

    Psynic Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Having the same problem with both a Linksys router and an Airport Express. Both routers can acquire an IP address fine from PLDT but the connection does not work unless I connect my MBP directly to the modem.

    Here's another guy experiencing the exact same problem....

    http://www.philmug.ph/forum/showthread.php?t=55110

    All I can say is what the hell did PLDT do this time!?!?!
     
  3. abielbad

    abielbad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    166
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City, Philippines
    Try to restore your Airport Extreme and redo the set-up. This is also happening to me on my Airport Express recently. I'm on Smart Bro internet.

    Actually I guess my Airport Express is already having software issues. It's more than a year and a half old already.
     
  4. quasar

    quasar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pasig City
    The problem seems to have been resolved. I can now access the internet through the AEBS.
     
  5. Psynic

    Psynic Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Same here. I'm guessing it was a routing problem with some new settings they tried to implement. Looks like it's been undone.
     
  6. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having problems with wifi dropouts on my netbook. My MacBook connects fine to the AEBS. The netbook connects fine from two rooms near the router. But when I use it in the dining room, which is further, wifi drops out a lot. Is this a weak wifi card or just setup?
     
  7. johannes

    johannes PhilMUG Chairman
    Staff Member Chairman

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,878
    Likes Received:
    1,293
    Could be a "weak" wi-fi card. Have you tried using both units in the dining room? Do they both experience weak/zero wi-fi signals? If both of them experience weak/zero signals, then it could be your setup. Maybe it's simply too far away or there's a lot of interference between the AEBS and your dining room.
     
  8. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, all other devices (MacBook, iPod Touch, N78) work well in the dining room. Even guest laptops and devices. The netbook get anywhere from Good to Very Good wifi connection in XP. It gets to surf at normal speeds. It just disconnects and reconnects.
     
  9. natsgo

    natsgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Taguig City

    What RSSI value do you get on your MacBook in the dining room?
    If you're on Snow Leopard, you can get this by option+clicking the wifi icon in the status bar.
    If on Leopard, install iStumbler.

    If your RSSI value is in the -70 to -80 range, then the signal is already weak. Your netbook may have a weaker wifi antenna compared to your MacBook thus the dropouts.
     
  10. otomirmo

    otomirmo Guest

    i'm using smartbro on my AEBS and it is reporting double NAT problem. can anyone help me how to resolve this. thanks.
     
  11. scatterbrain

    scatterbrain Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    does it impair your connectivity? i used to have the same report on my AEBS when i was still a smartbro sub. i assumed that smartbro's network config already made use of NAT and since i was doing the same at my AEBS a double NAT problem would naturally be reported. since it wasn't impairing my connectivity, i just selected ignore the problem so that the light on the AEBS would turn green.
     
  12. quasar

    quasar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pasig City
    This problem reoccured last night. Like before, I can connect to the Internet only if I connect the iMac directly to the DSL modem. Airport Utility indicates the AEBS can't get a IP address from my ISP, which is PLDT.

    Anybody experiencing the same problem?
     
  13. quasar

    quasar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pasig City
    Problem resolved itself just about now.
     
  14. chrisjigaboo

    chrisjigaboo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    There seems to be a problem with the settings of my AEBS. I don't know what to do. :(

    Every time the desktop is turned on the wifi becomes really slow [or when my sister goes to a heavy site like tumblr, the wifi disappears.] And when the PS3 and the Desktop is on, the wifi disappears.. Is there a way for the AEBS to evenly distribute the bandwidth?

    Here's my settings:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    What do you mean by "the wifi disappears?" Where is it "disappearing?"

    Go to http://tools.meraki.com/stumbler

    See if you have neighbors with wifi. Look at the channels they use. If you are using the same channel, change yours in Airport Utility. Also check if you have 2.4ghz cordless phones nearby. They too can drop a wifi connection.
     
  16. bontistic

    bontistic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque PH
    Disappearing maybe because it is configured as a hidden network? If you are not connected to the AEBS and it is a hidden network, will it hide?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!