Problem playing Dota on Parallel Desktop 3.0

Discussion in 'Third party hardware, software and accessories' started by m4rc, Sep 25, 2007.

  1. m4rc

    m4rc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    This is my first post here in Philmug. Im also a new Switcher. :cool: I have some queries regarding Frozen Throne. I want to play dota on my MBP, unfortunately I only have installer for windows. So what I did was I installed the latest version of Parallels Desktop so I can run Windows XP on Mac.

    The installation went fine but when I click the Frozen Throne icon the graphics are kinda messy, it has some glitches and the mouse pointer is missing. I also tried to download drivers for NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT in windows, still it does not fix the problem.

    My question is it possible to play Dota on Windows XP using Parallel Desktop 3.0?
    Do you have any idea why the graphics are messy? Any suggestion on how to fix this?

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. Mocha.Frap

    Mocha.Frap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Makati City
    Did you try already using boot camp? :rolleyes:
     
  3. lamski

    lamski PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    438
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Parallels only supports DirectX 8 games at the moment.

    You might be better off installing bootcamp. You already have a windows XP installer so you could explore that route.

    You should also check your warcraft install disks since blizzard usually ship hybrid disks that work for both windows and macs. If your disks turn out to be hybrid disks, you can install warcraft natively on macs. Warcraft originally came out as Power PC binaries and runs slowly on intel macs. But the latest patch converts your installation to universal binaries which run on native speeds for both PPC and intel macs.

    Speed is important for games such as these and playing through virtual machines won't give you native speeds.
     
  4. m4rc

    m4rc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply....

    Anyway, yeah, you have a point about the speed stuff....Haven't tried bootcamp yet. So how do you set up bootcamp? Is is still user friendly because you need to reboot to switch OS right?

    Another question, if I uninstalled Parallel using AppDelete will windows xp also be uninstalled?

    Thanks.
     
  5. Mocha.Frap

    Mocha.Frap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Makati City
    Bootcamp? You have to download it from the apple website and you also have to buy a copy of the windows os :) Based from what Ive heard, it is easy to set up :cool:
     
  6. blacksocks

    blacksocks Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use the Uninstall package that came with your Parallels file. The XP VM is just an image file in OS X which will be deleted with Parallels.
     
  7. jps444

    jps444 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ZONE (Quezon City)
    you can play dota within OS X. the's warcraft III frozen throne available for it. :)
     
  8. m4rc

    m4rc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys

    I've already installed bootcamp...:cool: its very easy to install and use. I also installed dota, the graphics are not messy anymore and it works really fine now.

    I have only one problem left...anybody encountered sleepless nyt bug?;)

    Anyway, thanks for the post guys. Really appreciate it. :cool:
     
  9. Mocha.Frap

    Mocha.Frap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Makati City
    Haha!! No prob.. :D Do you play dotA with friends? Or with AI? ;)
     
  10. m4rc

    m4rc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    I play dota with friends....they have GG client installed on their pc. if you have GG client maybe we could set up a time and date for philmug members to play dota...hehe. (noob here) :redface:

    Boy's night out is out, Dota all night is in. hehehe....nerd! :cool:
     
  11. Mocha.Frap

    Mocha.Frap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Makati City
    GG client only works in windows right? Yep I have gg client too..Haha but I can't play these few weeks, its almost our finals :(
     
  12. m4rc

    m4rc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, I installed GG client in windows using bootcamp...so whenever I play dota I switch to windows. I hope there will be GG client compatible with OS X. dota is the only reason why I use windows. hehe.

    anyway, goodluck on your finals!
     
  13. francis79

    francis79 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Quezon city
    your the man m4rc!

    invite me in your lan parties!

    but i don't play DOTA!

    can DOTA run on a macbook under bootcamp?
     
  14. Mocha.Frap

    Mocha.Frap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Makati City
    Yep. You just need warcraft 3 frozen throne and dotA map ;)
     
  15. francis79

    francis79 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Quezon city
    thanks for the info mocha.frap.
     
  16. dralnux

    dralnux Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    is there a gg client for mac osx?
     
  17. rdy0329

    rdy0329 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598
    Likes Received:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    nope. sorry :(
     
  18. Mocha.Frap

    Mocha.Frap Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,184
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Makati City
    Nope. No GG client for mac, IMo, just play at Battle.net :D
     
  19. sneaky_toto

    sneaky_toto Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taguig, Philippines
    i used both bootcamp and parallel, hehehe
     
  20. R-T

    R-T Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    34
    why do you need to run dota in windows when your warcraft/frozen thhrone cd can boot in both windows AND mac?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!