OSX Security (share your tips and tricks)

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by jcdman, Oct 8, 2008.

1. jcdman

jcdman Member

i'm relatively new to the security features of OSX leopard. any tips and tricks that you guys wanna share? so far, what i'm just keen on are the logon passwords, parental controls for other/guest users, and authentication by the administrator whenever a new program is installed or for updates or when settings are going to be changed in system preferences.

what are your layers of security? actually, share your tricks na lang :) security would be pointless if you disclose that you're using this or that kind of security protocol :)

2. bacchus_3

bacchus_3 PhilMUG Addict Member

I think there was a thread of security tips but I can't seem to find it.

If I'd get a new Mac here's the first steps I'd want to do [but not limited to].

1. Create a dedicated administrator user account
    2. Add password to my frequently used user account and set it up as a normal user
    3. Set up the firewall to 'Set access for specific services and applications' and add applications that I'd want the firewall explicit access to the net.
    4. Set up screensaver to prompt for password when woken up

Hmmm...that's as far as I can remember it.

3. rafaelc378

rafaelc378 Active Member

In addition to what bacchus mentioned:

-Activate & setup the EFI Firmware Password. This means that the mac won't boot from anything other than the onboard HD without entering that password.

-Set up security so that any change to system preferences needs a password input.

-(Not part of OS X, but good idea nontheless) If you have the funds, buy a tracking/recovery software like Orbicule's Undercover.

4. macdrive007

macdrive007 Well-Known Member

Question: