OS X Yosemite

Discussion in 'Yosemite (10.10)' started by LeoCastillo, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. maaarz

    maaarz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Hachikuma

    Hachikuma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pasig
    The weirdest thing just happened when I upgraded to Yosemite. The Globe software that came with my Tattoo dongle just outright crashes. Everything was fine up until Mavericks...
     
  3. wulf

    wulf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,585
    Likes Received:
    138
    the key to most of the initial problems after installing? check for updates, download, install, restart. solved all of my initial issues
     
  4. jov_112

    jov_112 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    2
    Finder.app intermittently crashes on my mid-2011 13" mbp. I never experienced that in Mavericks.
     
  5. mig

    mig Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    6
    Had the same problem after installing over 10.9. Did a clean install and all is well again.

    Anyone having graphics-related problems? A lot of times I open a folder and it displays as blank or the filenames are screwed up. I have to close and reopen for it to display properly. :|
     
  6. ment

    ment Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Pakalat Kalat
    Well my luck is still good... All is well and smoooth for me after updating to Yosemite.....

    What i did after updating to Yosemite?
    1. Updated my Viber (coz it was not working after the update)
    2. run CCleaner :)
    3. Tinkered with Settings
    4. Run Apps store for updates of installed apps
    5. browse :)
    6. updated my JAVA
    7. Helplessly tried to find a way to enlarge the fonts :(


    Wala na .... just used my mac air as normal .... happy camper here. Hope everyone experiencing problems will have their issues fixed soon.
     
  7. ment

    ment Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Pakalat Kalat
  8. suigeneris

    suigeneris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    167
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Metro Manila
    To those who did a clean install and wiped out your HD, is it safe to restore from a TM Backup? I'm concerned that the apps which will be reinstalled, some settings and the old backup from Mavericks may cause issues.

    Is it safer to just restore the data folders (one by one) and then just reinstall/redownload the apps?

    Thanks!
     
  9. suavecito

    suavecito PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,445
    Likes Received:
    525
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Elm Street
    Would probably repair permission, reset SMC and PRAM and see if the memory leak still persists.
     
  10. mannyespejo

    mannyespejo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,144
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Guys, the maximize button was replaced with a full screen button in Yosemite. Anyone knows an easier way to maximize the window size without going fullscreen? Thanks in advance!
     
  11. dryxzzz

    dryxzzz Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    P8, QC
    Option(⌥) + click does the trick. The Option Key (⌥) toggles the full screen button to maximize button.
     
  12. mokmoki

    mokmoki PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    402
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Laguna
    double clicking anywhere on the title bar also does the same thing. :)
     
  13. denpacs

    denpacs PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    840
    Location:
    City of Golden Friendship
    I'm using an app called DoublePane to Fill the Screen up without going to fullscreen. [emoji4]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. cyann21

    cyann21 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Piñas
    Installed Yosemite over the weekend... I can't receive calls in my Mac.
     
  15. chris2x

    chris2x Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    66
    Location:
    Marikina, BGC
    same problem here. the recommendation at Lifehacker is to log off iCloud and back on for mobile devices, among other things... i'll try it out again when i have the chance.
     
  16. lmd052300

    lmd052300 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davao City
    Did u guys enable phone calls on facetime?
     
  17. lmd052300

    lmd052300 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davao City
    And one thing be sure your number on iPhone imessage is checked also in your mac it should reflect their both imessage and facetime
     
  18. cyrianagujo

    cyrianagujo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    14
    updated to Yosemite yesterday, and everything's fine, except for the bluetooth. I can connect to it but when I try to send pictures from my phone, it automatically cancels. I can live with it for now though, and I really like the new design.
     
  19. zero.

    zero. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila; Philipsburg
    I already have a problem with using my BT speakers after updating to Yosemite, audio has a lag of several seconds.

    I think the bluetooth connectivity is also affected by a sudden spike in CPU load. At the same time while playing music on iTunes, I noticed that when browsing with Safari, audio tends to stop for a split second when you click on a new link. However, when I just use my MBP's speaker, the lag or sudden stop is not present at all.
     
  20. rebiscoco

    rebiscoco Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    33
    Anyone on Yosemite uses Garage Band or Logic Pro? Did you have any problems regarding the audio interface you are using?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!