OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by p.pipster, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. jussujjus

    jussujjus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    @catmik Nice! I forced shut down mine and it's still not draggable :p
     
  2. winmag

    winmag Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0


    ^ i think your only way now is to do a clean install for your air, did u make a bootable usb for you ML?
     
  3. jussujjus

    jussujjus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Any one with Mountain Lion experiencing troubles with their iMessage? When it asks to log in, it prompts a window that says "Your Apple ID "[email protected]" can't be used to set up iMessage at this time." Every time. Checked iCloud settings in System Preferences, my account is logged in. Hmm..
     
  4. glentot

    glentot New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    same problem here. i tried several times but with no luck. :(
     
  5. sirbenski

    sirbenski Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Cavite, Philippines
    Restore to a previous Time Machine backup for the meantime maybe? Just to let you use your MBA until you get home.

    I have a MacBook Air too. Now, I'm a bit nervous.
     
  6. jussujjus

    jussujjus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Update 1:

    YESSIR! I figured it out. So what happened was, iMessage tells you that your Apple ID can't be used at this time bla bla bla. Tried to re-sign in my iCloud account in Systems Preferences but still the same. Then I turned on iMessage on my iPhone, it asks for your Apple ID password then leave it on. Finally, I was able to log in to my iMessage on Mac! BTW, mail and imessage alerts on notification center look awesome!

    Update 2:

    When the icons are too close from your dock when you drag it away, it goes back. But when you drag the icons really far from the dock, maybe center screen, it shows the the poof icon then it works!
     
    #246 jussujjus, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  7. catmik

    catmik Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's weird. Mine is working just fine.
    I just noticed that my shutdown time is taking more time. Before upgrading it'd take 2 secs only to shutdown. Now around 20-30 secs. Any work arounds?
     
    #247 catmik, Jul 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2012
  8. jussujjus

    jussujjus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    @catmik oh, when the icons are too close from your dock when you drag it away, it goes back. But when you drag the icons really far from the dock, maybe center screen, it shows the the poof icon then it works! I still haven't noticed my shut down time. Maybe later I'll test it.
     
  9. benzng

    benzng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    29
    I will try to reinstall again when i get home. if that does not work then i will revert to the time machine back up last month. hassle lang upgrading.
     
  10. shootertwist

    shootertwist PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,460
    Likes Received:
    760
    updated mine, problem i encountered is that i cant see my bootcamp partition, so i restarted to check if bootcamp still works and ok naman. But when i restarted to osx, i was greeted with some sort of disk utility options. my mac partition was greyed out. Did some reading and some said using repair disk worked for them. Used that one and good thing it worked. Bootcamp partition was still not visible but installed paragon ntfs and this solved it.
     
  11. redtamayo

    redtamayo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    backread a few pages mate, answers in previous pages. cheers!

     
  12. redtamayo

    redtamayo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    You need to drag the dock icon at least 1 inch away from the dock. And do not release it until it changes to the poof icon. This is intended functionality to prevent 'new-ish' users from deleting dock items inadvertently.

     
  13. liv_m

    liv_m Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mandaluyong
    anybody here with early 2011 mbp with the stock 4gb ram who already upgraded to ML? how was it? did you notice any sluggishness when opening apps?
     
  14. redtamayo

    redtamayo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    ^I have an early 2011 MBP 15" with Hi-Res Display with 8GB RAM. I installed ML over a 2 week-old Lion install. No sluggishness so far (PSCS6, MSOffice, Win7 on Parallels) aside from the usual reloading of fonts/plugins etc of some apps. The first run is slower than the next ones. I would like to note too however that I am on an SSD.
     
  15. liv_m

    liv_m Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mandaluyong
    My mbp 13" is basically stock... planning to upgrade to ML, that's why I'm asking if it won't get sluggish in opening apps with just the 4gb ram... btw, i run just the basic apps.


    thanks for sharing.:)
     
  16. BigTimeBully

    BigTimeBully Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it sir. thanks
     
  17. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    You should have no problems running you Mac with the native apps. Those had been thoroughly tested at Apple. Issues if any are from those Macs with tweaks and apps that Apple was unable to test. There is simply too many user configurations for Apple to test. Fixes appear in updates.
     
  18. jussujjus

    jussujjus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Mine is an early 2011 15" MBP with 4gb ram. It's smooth well you'll experience it better after spotlight finishes its indexing and other updates. Do a reboot then you've got yourself a smooth experience!
     
  19. niceNslow1

    niceNslow1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abu dhabi
    downloading mountian lion :)


    40minutes...
     
  20. DenzDaniel

    DenzDaniel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Hawaii, USA
    downloading Mountain Lion...

    12 minutes... ;)
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!