online store or authorized reseller?

Discussion in 'AppleTalk' started by kari, Aug 7, 2020.

1. kari

kari New Member

this is my first time contemplating upon buying an apple product, and i'm still debating whether i should buy from their official site or buy at the only reseller near me, which is the Power Mac Center. (forgive me for writing such a long post in advance, a reply would be nice)

what's my situation?
    i'm an upcoming college freshman and i'm planning to use ipad pro along with the accessories like apple pencil and airpods pro for productivity.

my dillema?
    since i'm going to cost a fortune i'm quite anxious buying from both sides. why?
    PMC = i don't fully trust resellers,
    1.) i'm worried that i'll be pouring my money on a counterfeit :(
    2.) Education prices are only avaiable on certain branches, and unfortunately we are not included.
    3.) the customer service isn't that great
    4.) i still can't go outside bc we are still on a lockdown and minors aren't allowed to wander off the city, so my parents will be the one who'll buy it for me and they are quite not the techy type :(

apple.ph =
    1.) i'm worried that there will be scratches. factory defects are also common (from what i've heard) and dealing with them like returning the product is a big hassle
    2.) idk much about like the hidden fees, how much is often added? i'm planning to buy ipad pro 2020, airpods pro, apple pencil, 2m cord, and multiport. will the additional hidden fees reach 3k? :((

i'm also open to any tips that you may give to a newbie like me
    (also is the apple care worth it? i'm planning to buy some for the airpods and ipad pro)

thank you for reading up to this end, i hope you can help me decide, it would really help me a lot and i look forward into becoming part of this community^^

2. neilrg

neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

Hello! Welcome to PhilMUG.