"New Tab" Button For Safari

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by chetiboy, Jun 11, 2008.

  1. chetiboy

    chetiboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the beginning I always mistook the plus sign of safari for "new tab" instead of "make new bookmark". I've been semi looking for a way to look for something that will do the trick. I know command+T does the same, but I guess I got lucky finding this

    http://futurebuddha.net/newtabsafari/Safari_New_Tab.html

    it replaces the "+" to work as "open new tab", instead of making a new book mark.

    I'll try and see if it works when I get home, since I'm using a PC notebook at work (psssh)
    Hope this helps
     
  2. gracegal

    gracegal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    21
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Cagayan de Oro City & Manila
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    ey thanks for sharing this chetiboy. very useful. same as you, i also mistook that for "new tab" hehehe. anyway, it's now working on my safari. ;)

    thanks.
     
  3. booblanco

    booblanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    it's an interesting plugin. you may however experience safari to crash once an update to safari comes out (the same way the old SafariButtons did), hence the presence of the plugin's uninstaller.

    why don't you just double-click on an empty tab space to create a new tab?
     
    #3 booblanco, Jun 11, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2008
  4. chetiboy

    chetiboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    maybe i've been spoiled by firefox huhuhu.
     
  5. arielaquino@mac.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    222 v. mapa street, davao city
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    wow thats cool thanks a lot
     
  6. ice_man

    ice_man Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari


    hahaha.. i must admit, I didn't really knew this. Thanks booblanco. People do learn new things everyday..:D
     
  7. Myles

    Myles Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antipolo
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    or a faster way is to just press apple-T on your keyboard.
     
  8. rafaelc378

    rafaelc378 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,464
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    I just double click the tab bar. (This trick works for firefox rin!)
     
  9. ice_man

    ice_man Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari


    believe me there are times that Im just to lazy to move another hand. So double click is a great tip.. hehehe
     
  10. jaijin

    jaijin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,147
    Likes Received:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    why is the double-click not workin' on mine?
     
  11. rafaelc378

    rafaelc378 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,464
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    @jaijin,

    It has to be the bar itself and not any presently open tabs. Try double clicking all the way to the right of the tab bar if a lot of tabs are open.
     
  12. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    This is a good button to have, but for me, since I've been so accustomed to keyboard shortcuts, it's a bit tedious.

    When I need a blank new tab, I use Command T, or if I need to open a link in a a new tab, I simply Command click that link.
     
  13. jaijin

    jaijin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,147
    Likes Received:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    really not working
     
  14. booblanco

    booblanco Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Paranaque
    Re: New Tab Button For Safari

    strange. you're using safari v3 right? the latest by the way is v3.1.1.
     
  15. johannes

    johannes PhilMUG Chairman
    Staff Member Chairman

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    9,878
    Likes Received:
    1,292
    Likewise, I'm accustomed to keyboard shortcuts (Command-T). But if I'm in a lazier mood, I just double-click the tab bar.

    For links that I want to open in a new tab, I just Command-click the link or I just drag the link to the empty spot in the tab bar.
     
  16. rafaelc378

    rafaelc378 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,464
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just making sure, it's the Tab bar you're double clicking right? Not the bookmarks bar?
     
  17. sean_4c

    sean_4c Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    wonderful trick. i usually press command+t, knowing this made navigating in safari easier :D
     
  18. templar88

    templar88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    I use Command T. Since I use both Firefox and Safari, I won't get so disoriented. Its the same for both apps.
     
  19. mousehole

    mousehole Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    i can't believe apple overlooked this one simple little thing that all the other browsers already have natively.
     
  20. hqvq_jen

    hqvq_jen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Q.C.
    works fine with mine! thanks thanks! the double click is really helpful.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!