Migrating MacBook appz

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by chec, Mar 13, 2009.

  1. chec

    chec Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm getting a new larger hdd soon to replace my 160gb, as i can remember migration assistant copies all files, settings, appz etc. and superduper/carbon copy duplicates the whole hdd...is there any way i can migrate some (not all) apps? coz i was thinking on filtering the apps installed on my old hdd and just migrate the things i actually need :)
     
  2. wildcard

    wildcard Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paranaque/Muntinlupa/Liliw, Laguna
    Actually you can transfer the apps that does not use any installer, the ones that you just drag and drop into the applications folder.

    But the ones that does use an installer, you'll have to reinstall those (i.e. Adobe CS3, iLife apps, iWork)
     
  3. Shinrai

    Shinrai Guest

    A neat trick I use is copy the files in /Users/<your username>/Library/Application Support in my previous setup and dump them on another Mac where I want the same settings. Won't copy everything (my settings were not transfered) but it saved me from redownloading blocklists for Transmission and setting up my TVShows subscription when I built a Mac torrent box.

    The best way is to just start over to avoid unnecessary excess baggage of your old apps and reinstall the others. Or clone then delete the apps you don't want after which worked for me as well.
     
  4. mig

    mig Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    6
    whats wrong with copying everything with CCC then uninstalling them after? :p
     
  5. rafaelc378

    rafaelc378 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,464
    Likes Received:
    2
    Or a variation on what Mig suggested, why not delete all the apps you don't want from your system first? Then clone the contents to the new drive and then switch the drives. Much simpler that way and you save time from what Mig suggested since you save time. You won't spend time copying what you'll delete anyway.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!