MBA battery paranoia

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by shewrites2, Sep 19, 2016.

1. shewrites2

shewrites2 New Member

Hi everybody! Apple newbie here. I hope somebody could help me with this :) Please bear with me as this could be long.

I bought MBA 13" last Sept. 11 and at home, I saw that it already has 2 battery cycle count. As per BTB SA, I drained the battery and charged it fully the next day. As of yesterday, my 1-week old MBA already has 6 battery cycle counts. I know I should keep the cycle count low, I just wanted to test out the battery if it's really going to give me a more or less 12hr battery power and during the first few days, it really gave me that.

Yesterday, when I plugged in the magsafe adapter, it sparked and I heard tiny fizzing sounds but stopped when the adapter was fully plugged in. Admittedly, I'm using a very old power extension cord but I charge all my gadgets using it. Tiny sparks are quite normal using that cord, but it was the 1st time that I heard those fizzing sounds. When I unplugged it, I noticed the 2 prong's tips have dark marks, I think burnt marks, on them. But when I wiped it with a dry cloth, I was able to wipe off most of it. Last night, when I used my MBA, unplugged, I think the battery was draining faster. I started using it at 7:10PM at 96% and at around 1:45, it's down to 67%. Chrome, Viber, Mail, and Spotify were open but Spotify was not playing anything. I downloaded Coconut Battery and design capacity is at 99.8%, current charge < full charge with a difference of 160 at 76%. OS X battery status is good. But in Apple's energy saving estimate, the battery is just going to give me around 10.5 hrs.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

Am I just being anxious over nothing? Or something is really amiss? Please help me!! Thanks!

2. ZeroCool

ZeroCool Active Member

Better use Safari instead of Chrome.. It is known to cause battery drain because of high CPU usage. Try it and you will see a difference in battery life.