Macbook Pro 13" 128 gig or 256 gig?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by maikapanda, Nov 5, 2016.

1. maikapanda

maikapanda New Member

Hi! I'm planning to buy the 2015 mbp 13in soon but I'm not sure which one to get. I'm a photographer and as part of the job, I edit a lot of photos. My main work computer is an iMac 21in, but I need a laptop so I can still work when I'm not at the studio. I'm thinking of getting the 128gig and use the extra cash on portable hard drives so I can easily access the files between the imac and mbp. I'm literally just going to use the mbp when i dont have my imac.

The mbp will have adobe lightroom, Photoshop, some Microsoft office apps, and other pre-installed apps. Thoughts?

2. Calhoun

Calhoun Active Member

Hi. I know a photographer who uses a 128gb MacBook Air for editing. He just brings several portable HDs with him. BUT he also told me to get the 256GB MBA when it was time for me to get mine :). So I did. If you can afford the bigger hard drive, get it. You never know when you'll need the extra space.

3. maikapanda

maikapanda New Member

I see. I can afford the 256gig, I just thought the extra space would be useless since I'm going to store the files in portable hard drives anyway. But I read from another forum also that the 256gb will perform better than the 128gb once the apps are installed. Soooo definitely checking 256 right now. Thanks for the input! :)

4. Calhoun

Calhoun Active Member

You're welcome :).

5. mmanson

mmanson Member

bigger capacity will always be better. it also comes with better specs overall. good luck on your purchase!

6. maikapanda

maikapanda New Member

got the 256! Thanks :)

mmanson likes this.
  7. markandapps

markandapps Active Member

Get the 256. I have a 2015 macbook base model and looking back now, I should've borrowed money to get the 512.

8. maikapanda

maikapanda New Member