Look up PLEX if you haven't yet! User roll call!

Discussion in 'General iOS' started by john edward, Oct 28, 2014.

  1. pael

    pael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taguig
    alright thanks. I will also try to reset the iPad and see if that fixes things. Frankly, the iPad 1 is only usable for video watching, so I really need to make this work so it won't be a paper weight. Old Safari crashes on almost all websites, and the email client is not compatible with Gmail (because of security holes).
     
  2. pael

    pael Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Taguig
    old thread, but i am considering getting plex pass - the most interesting function for me will be DVR recording. anyone who has implemented this in the PH setting?

    if yes, i have several questions:

    1. what isdb-t tv tuner you used that is compatible with your mac-based plex media server?
    2. does plex pass 'detect' the programming information of local isdb-t channels?
     
  3. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    ^ Not that I need setting up the DVR anytime soon, but I'm also interested in this for what it is worth. There's just not enough good shows worth watching (this is just me talking), much less, recording on the local channels. Couple that with the unending supply of media from Cignal, Plex, Netflix, Prime Video, YouTube, etc., there's just not enough time in the world to run out of videos to watch.

    But it's quite apparent that you do have a reason.

    Anyway, I'm sure you know that there's no official support for ISDB-T receivers as of now from what I can tell, but you can still risk it by getting a cheap USB ISDB-T receiver to try it out. Even if it doesn't work out with Plex, you can still use it as a standalone on a computer or laptop. I do apologize but I don't have any experience with ISDB-T receivers to say if all of them can read program information. Though, I'm willing to go out on a limb that digital TV receivers in general should be able to get them. I haven't seen an STB ISDB-T receiver that can't receive this information so I'm pretty confident that this ability is standard on ANY digital TV receiver. Whether or not Plex will work with the receiver, much less see the programs, is a different story.

    Realizing that you're running PMS on a Mac, this potentially cuts down on the number of supported receivers even further. What a predicament.

    Sincerely though, good luck on your adventure.
     
    #83 oj88, Sep 23, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  4. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    3rd week in isolation, I've finally mustered up the courage to migrate from Windows Home Server 2011 (up since 2012) to Windows Server 2019. I've been putting this off for years because I was busy. With the ECQ however, I ran out of things to do and excuses.

    Plex is particularly happy in its new home.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. marvinp

    marvinp Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    45
    Our Plex server is a 2014 Mac mini. Shared accounts with my parents and sister so they can stream all our movies and shows for free. They don't have Netflix, instead they have NetPlex. ;-)
     
  6. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    Same here. I created individual accounts for each family member... from my kids, wife, my siblings with their respective wives, and our parents. That way, we each have our own personal viewing profile.
     
  7. marvinp

    marvinp Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    45
    Have you installed Tautulli? Since I don't have Plex Pass, I use Tautulli to monitor who is watching what in real time, and to find out the popular movies and shows being watched. Pretty detailed stats for a free tool. ;-)

    https://tautulli.com
     
    oj88 likes this.
  8. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    No i haven’t. Might take a look at it, thanks!

    Not sure if it’s available to non-Pass, but in the Dashboard, you can see who is watching what, along with their progress, details like whether the stream is Direct Play, transcoding (software or hardware), and a few other details... but only in real time. I don’t see historical stats, so that free tool might come in handy.
     
  9. marvinp

    marvinp Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yes, I see that too. Tautulli is way better. It's like being Big Brother to your Plex users. ;-)

     
  10. scoflip

    scoflip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Q.C.
    Any Converge users using Plex Pass? My Remote Access is always Not Available Outside your Network. Any help? Thanks!
     
  11. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    Remote Access requires you to do port-forwarding on your router which is doing NAT. But that will only work if the IP address your router is getting is public/routable.

    Converge, AFAIK, uses CGNAT for their consumer plans. That said, doing port-forwarding on just your router won't cut it, unfortunately.
     
    scoflip likes this.
  12. marvinp

    marvinp Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    45
    Plex remote access still worked for me even thought I didn't port forward before. Or maybe it's because I have a static IP from Globe Fiber?

     
  13. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    If you didn't manually specify a static port, Plex will use UPnP to automatically configure your firewall to open up and forward whatever port it needs.

    However, it is universally known that enabling UPnP is a big security risk. Though, everyone has their own security tolerances, I just don't like the idea that any app or device gets to choose who or what to let in through my firewall.
     
  14. marvinp

    marvinp Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    45
    UPnP is turned off on my router. I had a double-NAT set-up once and Plex wasn't reachable from outside, only thru the LAN. So I turned on bridged mode on the modem and used my Mac mini Untangle server as my main router.

     
  15. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    Interesting.

    Are you now getting a proper public IP after bridging your CPE? Alternatively, is the WAN IP address acquired by Untangle the same as when you google "What's my IP"?
     
  16. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,230
    Likes Received:
    825
    Lately, my Plex server has been struggling with hardware transcoding, most likely due to the growth of my 4K collection, I guess. The 4th gen Intel i5 IGP just wasn't up to snuff anymore so a couple of months ago, against my better judgment, I bought a Quadro P400, hoping that a workstation-class GPU would be a significant upgrade. Unfortunately, it was only marginally better than the IGP.... and it's taking up a PCIe x16 slot.

    So, I decided to look for a video card that can bring me high yield at a very low cost.... a used GTX1050 Ti.
    [​IMG]

    It will replace this lackluster Quadro P400. I'll probably just have to repurpose this for something else, or put it up for sale.
    [​IMG]
     
  17. marvinp

    marvinp Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    45
    Sorry for the late reply, just saw this now. ;-) And yes, I get the same static IP in UT and on my local machines. Glad my content is mostly 1080p, with the newer ones encoded in H265 so I don't have your transcoding issues. ;-)

     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!