iWork '06 won't mount

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by SurferDude, Jul 25, 2006.

  1. SurferDude

    SurferDude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    I'm trying to install iWork '06 but it kept on saying "iWork won't mount" and under reason it says "Not recognized". Anybody had the same proble before?

    Thanks
     
  2. jps444

    jps444 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ZONE (Quezon City)
    have you tried mounting it in a different mac?
     
  3. lamski

    lamski PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    438
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Maybe your install disk is scratched?
     
  4. SurferDude

    SurferDude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's brand new..
     
  5. peter_ob

    peter_ob Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lower Antipolo
    Return it and have it replaced then.
     
  6. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Confirm that your drive's working properly by checking if it reads other discs without any problems.
     
  7. SurferDude

    SurferDude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anything I could do before I replace it? I mean I'm probably missing something here... I've repaired permissions and cleared all caches using Onyx and DiskUtil. Any more troubleshooting steps?
     
  8. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    If the disk won't mount, then it's the disk that's the problem. I doubt you can do anything with your system to allow it to mount. It's probably a physical defect on the disk, or the data was badly written onto the disk.
     
  9. SurferDude

    SurferDude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried other disc, and it worked fine. I can access the files on the disc, so the disc mounts, it's the "dmg" file itself that's not mounting. Arghhh... I have a presentation due on Friday :'-(
     
  10. SurferDude

    SurferDude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yey! I finally got it to work. I dunno what solution worked for me, but I just ran ONYX and performed all possible parameters or stuff there (i.e. execute stuff under cleaning, parameters, maintenance, execution)

    Whew! I got so close to giving up... Thanks for helping me guys.. I appreciate it a lot.



    P.S.
    Sorry for those I bugged...
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!