Is there a way to switch between one document to the other using a keyboard shortcut?

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by jovanpuyo, Apr 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jovanpuyo

    jovanpuyo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Hi guys!

    Need your help in switching views between two similar document types on a Mac (e.g., two MS Office Word documents). Using windows, you can just press CTRL-Tab (or something like that) to switch from one Word document to the other, but on a Mac, when I press Command-Tab, it switches from one application to the other.

    The solution that I came up with is using Expose but I'm still wishing if there were any secret keyboard shortcuts out there.

    Been trying to figure this out for a long time but I can't seem to find a better solution. I'm wondering if there's anyone out there who knows a better way.

    Thanks!
     
  2. jaijin

    jaijin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    9,147
    Likes Received:
    169
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Is there a way to switch between one document to the other using a keyboard short

    Isn't spaces made for that?
     
  3. bacchus_3

    bacchus_3 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,804
    Likes Received:
    310
    Gender:
    Male
    Re: Is there a way to switch between one document to the other using a keyboard

    Apple Key + ` (open single quote - below the tilde key)
     
  4. gjtech

    gjtech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    jovan! command + ~ just like what bacchus said :)
     
  5. andiealbino

    andiealbino Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    aha! this command + ~ thing is much better than switching spaces. Thanks!!! :D
     
  6. scatterbrain

    scatterbrain Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    alternatively you can try this...
    on the older macs you pressed f10. on the newer macs you can press fn+f10 and achieve the same result. this effectively shows you all the instances from the same application (as against all open applications when you press either fn+f9 or f3). you then just click on the instance you're interested in. HTH
     
  7. jovanpuyo

    jovanpuyo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Re: Is there a way to switch...

    Salamat sa lahat!
     
  8. dni

    dni Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: Is there a way to switch...

    thanks! this is so much better and faster :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!