Is a Macbook Pro still considered as brand new if warranty started in October 2023?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ChaDejelo, Feb 8, 2023.

1. ChaDejelo

ChaDejelo New Member

Hi there. This is my first time buying a Macbook.
    I'm buying a Macbook Pro 14 1TB from a reliable reseller.
    The description is Brand New and Sealed with 1 year Apple Warranty so I requested a serial number to double-check.

This is what appears on the Apple Check Coverage site:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

It was purchased in Oct. 2022 and repairs and coverage also started on that date.
    Is this possible given it is "brand new" and "sealed"? Or naopen na siya?
    Naka-sale kasi si reseller right now. Very reliable naman siya just wondering why is this showing.
    They said they could have it corrected or changed with Apple.

Attached Files:

#1 ChaDejelo, Feb 8, 2023
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2023
  2. tweek

tweek Well-Known Member

If it is a grey market importer and not a duly authorized Apple reseller for the country you are buying in then you take the risk that they can change it later.

There are reasons why masmura si reliable.

Only way you can be sure it is sealed from Apple is if you inspect the box directly yourself. Ideally it is still inside the brown sealed shipping box. If it was removed from that then your next physical evidence would be the original sealed packing tape at the lid of the box.

Last month Apple released that model's replacement.

3. ChaDejelo

ChaDejelo New Member

Was considering the M2 too but upon reviews they found out that the M2 is slower than the M1. And M1 is cheaper.
    I am buying from BosJap and reviews seems to be good. Just really wondering if the warranty can start without actually opening the sealed box.

4. imart

imart PhilMUG Addict Member

is it possible to ask them if they could elaborate more about how "THEY could have it corrected or changed with Apple"?

5. tweek

tweek Well-Known Member