Ipad 3 LTE Capable?

Discussion in 'iPad, iPhone, iPod touch and Apple Watch' started by [email protected], Aug 22, 2013.

  1. ste@lth

    [email protected] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the road less taken...
    Hi to all i tried to search the thread on Ipad 3 but cant seem to find the answer, does anyone know if Ipad 3 is LTE capable and can work with local carriers like Globe and Smart? Thanks.
     
  2. rdy0329

    rdy0329 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,597
    Likes Received:
    960
    Gender:
    Male
    It's LTE capable but NOT with Globe or Smart's LTE frequencies.
     
  3. ste@lth

    [email protected] Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the road less taken...
    Just a followup, is it also the same with ipad 4 and ipad mini? TIA.
     
  4. jonathanvital

    jonathanvital Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Baños, Laguna
  5. Cheeseball

    Cheeseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 3rd generation iPad cellular version is compatible with SMART's LTE. I can confirm this as mine is a US-bought (from a Target store) carrier-unlocked 16GB model, but was meant to be used on AT&T as their network is 4G LTE.

    I'm not sure if it can be used on Globe's LTE network.
     
  6. Adel

    Adel Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,226
    Likes Received:
    168
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC
    Yes, I can confirm this too.

    I have a 3rd gen 64GB iPad, and I use a Smart LTE Prepaid SIM, and it works—in the precious few times that there is an LTE signal where I am. More often then not it reverts to 3G.

    And I can't confirm that it works with Globe either.
     
  7. polyx

    polyx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Makati
    I also have a 3rd Gen 64 Gb ipad, i used a nano sim from globe LTE activated(with nano to micro sim adapter),tested the sim on my iphone 5 it shows LTE but when i pit it in my ipad only 3G
     
  8. littlewingz08

    littlewingz08 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    In Front of Macbook's iSight
    My friend also has a 3rd gen ipad (unlocked) that comes from the US. Smart LTE does work but the speed he's getting is only for 3G (7mbps max) and it also switches back to 3G after a few minutes of usage. This though, has only been tested in 3 different areas (trinoma,makati and somewhere along EDSA).
     
  9. JasonSteffan

    JasonSteffan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ipad 4 and small are world and smart LTE suitable. just verify the model no. And i think it might just work great.
     
  10. Cheeseball

    Cheeseball New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    To build on the conversation, I do get 4G speeds, but that's because I live in Paranaque (right next to the SMART tower/building near Jaka Plaza along Sucat Road). I also get the same speeds in the Muntinlupa and Alabang areas.
     
  11. oxenjo30

    oxenjo30 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    Too bad for me. I'm on globe network :(. I would love to see my ipad mini to get an LTE since I'm an internet hog and most of the time watching videos on youtube and other video sites.
     
  12. Rastaman

    Rastaman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Under your bed. In your closet. In your head.

    As far as I know, iPad Minis can connect to the Globe LTE network, if you can catch a whiff of their signal.
     
  13. mochaholic

    mochaholic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    My ipad mini can connect to either globe or smart network...
     
  14. oxenjo30

    oxenjo30 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila
    I'm not sure though if I need to upgrade the iOS version (considering i upgraded to the latest version), I can't get any signal of LTE for globe but most of the time EDGE lang :(.
     
  15. Jsnc

    Jsnc Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    24
    Short of hijacking this thread, my mini is on globe LTE at this very moment. Do you have the ENABLE LTE toggle under the cellular data? Considering it is on EDGE most of the time, you got poor globe signals where you are.

    There is an existing thread on Globe LTE and iPad minis.
     
  16. bluedragonph

    bluedragonph Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    17
    For globe, you can use LTE for ipad mini. As for the topic, no Globe LTE for ipad 3 :(
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!