Internet Sharing via AirPort [was MBP Internet Sharing]

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by rexjc, May 20, 2006.

  1. rexjc

    rexjc Guest

    Tried sharing my internet connection to an Asus M5000... the Asus detects the signal, but can't acquire an IP address. Has anyone experienced this? How'd you resolve the problem?
     
  2. Nino

    Nino Loading...
    Staff Member PhilMUG Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    What did you do to enable internet sharing from your MBP?
     
  3. waffycasem

    waffycasem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    How come Windows laptop's can't connect to my WiFi connection? My iMac is connected to the internet via ethernet and I share my connection via airport. I my iBook has no problem connecting, but for I can't with Windows. They are able to detect the WiFi signal, but can't connect. How do I resolve this?
     
  4. rexjc

    rexjc Guest

    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    oh, i'm using APE to broadcast the connection. my quick fix was to disable wireless security whenever i have the Asus laptop in my office (which is not very often).

    with wireless security enabled, how do i add a user to the network (the Asus laptop)?
     
  5. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    Which wireless security protocol do you use?
     
  6. rexjc

    rexjc Guest

    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    128 bit WEP... used the 40 bit before, but didn't work...
     
  7. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    You might have to enter the HEX equivalent of your password on the Windows laptop. Use this WEP ASCII-Hex Converter.
     
  8. rexjc

    rexjc Guest

    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    Thanks, Patrick!
     
  9. rexjc

    rexjc Guest

    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    update: entered the HEX values in the Asus and now it works! Patrick, i didn't need to use WEP ASCII-HEX Converter. All I did was got the values found in AP Admin Utility and entered it on the Asus.

    Thanks!
     
  10. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    Glad you got it working!
     
  11. rexjc

    rexjc Guest

    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    mods, i think the title of the thread is misleading (might be more appropriate if "Internet Sharing w/ APE) ... i don't know how to edit the title of the thread...
     
  12. efm2

    efm2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    9
    Re: MBP Internet Sharing

    Hi waffycasem,

    Can you both use your internet connection at the same time? I just got my APX and I can't make it work simultaneously (my wired e-mac and my PB15), One has to give. Anyone out there that can help? Tried searching the forum but everything seems Greek to me.:confused:
     
  13. waffycasem

    waffycasem Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I can use it simultaneously with my iBook. My only problem is being able to use it with a Windows machine. Haven't tried it lately though... (wala kase akong WiFi-enabled Windows PC/Laptop) :)
     
  14. vanerz

    vanerz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. Got a question. I've got a Sun Broadband Wireless connected to my Macbook (w/ Mac OS X 10.5). I want to share this connection to laptops using Windows Vista. Here are the steps that I took:

    1. connect to Sun Broadband
    2. in System Preferences>Sharing, I selected HUAWEI Mobile (source of my internet connection) from the "Share your connection from"
    3. ticked the AirPort in the "To computers using"
    4. in the AirPort Options dialog box (after pressing the AirPort Options button), I renamed the network name from my computer's name to another name
    5. set Channel to automatic
    6. Enabled encryption (using WEP 40-bit...also tried the 128-bit) and specified
    7. ticked the "Internet Sharing" and the wifi signal indicator turned into an icon w/ an arrow.

    here are the things that I observed:
    - the network is visible to the vista laptops, but when connecting to it, they are not prompted for a password...then they eventually fail to connect
    - so I removed the security...now they are able to connect to the network but are not able to surf the net
    - i tried changing the network name to my computer's name...they are able to connect to the network, and they are able to surf.

    So does that mean that I can't change the network name from my computer's name and also have it secured? I'd like to know if it's possible to share an internet connection through a secured AirPort network to PC laptops.

    TIA.
     
  15. Ejaxene

    Ejaxene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,413
    Likes Received:
    244
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I can't seem to connect a Vista laptop to my MBP's internet sharing when the encryption is on. When finding a network using the Vista laptop, the os doesn't prompt me to type a password. (Same network name/MBP laptop name)
     
  16. NoisyCricket

    NoisyCricket Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    How do I share my PC's internet connection with my MacBook given the ff:

    - I don't have a LINKSYS WRT54G WIFI G ROUTER, but I do have an Airport Express
    - My PC has 2 lan cards

    The funny thing is before I used to be able to make it work.

    My wife would be surfing on the PC, and I would be surfing wirelessly through the MacBook. But now I can't seem to get it to work.

    If I plug in the PLDT myDSL modem straight into the APE, my macbook can dial up a DSL connection though.

    Any suggestions? ;)
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!