Internet Cable repair recommendations?

Discussion in 'Third party hardware, software and accessories' started by godivachoc, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. godivachoc

    godivachoc Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys.

    The internet line from downstairs to the second floor is broken and I don't think PLDT or Globe would offer to fix these cables. I really have no idea who I can reach out to.

    Any recommendations?

    TIA! :D
     
  2. rdy0329

    rdy0329 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    540
    Gender:
    Male
    Google Wifi or any Mesh Wifi that can effectively blanket your home. Easier and provides much needed relief from dead zones.
     
  3. Dekra

    Dekra PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,070
    Likes Received:
    947
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    ^ You can try talking (short of flagging down their vans :D) to their service provider (usually FibrHome) if they can do it for you as an 'off-line' transaction
     
    godivachoc and porkypork like this.
  4. makintosh

    makintosh Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    88
    Check out powerline adapters such as these products by TPLINK https://www.tp-link.com/ph/products/list-18.html
    I was once asked by my brother to help a niece extend internet from the ground floor to the second floor and this is what I used.

    I would have opted to lay down cables but its tough to stretch them through nooks and crannies and the end result will affect the aesthetic finish of the house.

    The receiving device can even be relocated to other rooms as long as there’s an electrical outlet connected to the same circuit and within the operating distance. You can also have both wired and wireless connectivity depending on the model.

    Note: I am not connected to tplink and do not endorse it as the only brand option for the kind of device.
     
    godivachoc likes this.
  5. porkypork

    porkypork Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Is the wiring embedded in the walls? Electricians usually can replace them with new cables. But yeah, I second the third-party installers of ISPs, they're more knowledgeable on networking stuff.
     
    godivachoc likes this.
  6. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    436
    What sort of cable is it? Telephone wire (DSL), LAN cable (Cat5e/6), or fibre? Who installed it?
     
  7. Juice

    Juice PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,304
    Likes Received:
    654
    I'm guessing you're talking about ethernet cables, since fiber should be done by PLDT or Globe(if it is, you should tell them). If it is ethernet cables, then you can ask your local computer shop if they can provide you with a custom ethernet cable with the correct length and all. Maybe an electrician can help you do it.
     
    raypin likes this.
  8. porkypork

    porkypork Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Just found out that these third party installers don't carry extra cables already. We used to "convince" them to go beyond the fixed 5/10/15 meter packaged LAN cable, but now, installers told me that they're given pre-cut cable na. haha
     
  9. raypin

    raypin PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,146
    Likes Received:
    3,608
    Mm...I m with the suggestion to go whole home wifi instead of ethernet.....unless you use your 2nd fl broken ethernet for PC gaming where lag time is a no-no.
     
    #9 raypin, Feb 6, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
  10. guwapito

    guwapito Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    go for powerline adaptors!
     
    raypin likes this.
  11. godivachoc

    godivachoc Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's a powerline adaptor?

    Thanks for all the recommendation guys. I think it's an ethernet cable going up here. It used to work.

    We both have PLDT Fibr and Globe at home (Globe is mostly used by my brother for gaming).
     
  12. porkypork

    porkypork Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Best route to go I think is mesh networking as suggested above. Least hassle/amount of work needed. But that'll only work for 1 provider. You'll be needing another one for your second ISP.
     
  13. makintosh

    makintosh Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    88
    Powerline adapters use your home’s electrical wiring circuit to transmit data instead of conventional CAT5/6 ethernet cables. Just connect one end to your modem and to an electrical outlet, the other end to another electrical outlet within the house, do some simple settings and your network is now extended to anywhere you plug the receiver part. Most models have both ethernet and wifi. So its like having both a wired switch and a wifi repeater.
     
  14. cybersniper

    cybersniper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,107
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Imus, Cavite
    Load Balancer wont do the trick for 2 ISPs?
     
  15. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    436
    What is the purpose of this particular ethernet cable? In other words, what two devices is it trying to connect?
     
  16. porkypork

    porkypork Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    90
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MNL
    Wow, never knew about this one, til now.
     
    cybersniper likes this.
  17. macfrancis

    macfrancis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    17
    My cousin bought a google wifi with 3 wifi points but it didnt covered the whole house. I told him to buy the Linksys Velop Tri band - 3 packs and it did blanket the whole house.

    The problem with google wifi design, it is small just like a make up kit and the built in antenna easily absorbs by the ground not like the velop the internal antenna placement is in the top of the tower so the wifi broadcast is much wider.

    Powerline works only in single circuit breaker. Most of the houses nowadays have more than 3 circuit breakers.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!