iMac average lifespan for Pinoy Mac users?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Flim, Jan 12, 2016.

1. Flim

Flim Member

• What is the average lifespan of an iMac from your direct experience? How long have you had your iMac that you'd recommend one to others?
    • How about the display -- how long does it hold up before developing problems? Do the newer iMacs (2014/2015) have a newer architecture that would prevent internal stains, etc. (read about this in many forums). Are there ways to prevent these internal smudges?
    I'm a recent Mac convert, and a noob in this forum who would really like to know what I'm getting into before I finally part with my hard-earned bucks and get an iMac -- though feeling queasy about the display in a unibody.

I have an MBA 11" (early 2014 A1465, 256gb SSD, 4gb) I've been using for a year now as my workhorse and love it to pieces. But it's more than high time I give my eyes a rest and get a larger/brighter screen and HDD. I mostly work with MS and Adobe apps (Illustrator, PS, ID, etc., as well as torrent DLs, hehe...). I also installed Parallels Desktop (Win 7) to help me transition to OSX (and thinking of putting this again in a desktop because I can't find a better substitute for MediaMonkey -- unless you have one).

My average turnaround for desktop is around 4 years, so I really want to know if iMac will hold up well -- esp. the display. Yes, I know of AppleCare but frankly, it gets me why Apple can't make their warranty 3 years like other computer manufacturers such as Lenovo.

Any advice is much appreciated. :)

#1 Flim, Jan 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  2. VicB

VicB PhilMUG Addict Member