iChat: use of gmail account

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by stubborn_sage, May 11, 2008.

  1. stubborn_sage

    stubborn_sage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello... been trying to search old threads for this issue... since mac mail users can access their gmail account.. is it also possible to use the gmail account in ichat?


    my guess is no.. but i just need to confirm this.
     
  2. gregster

    gregster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think you can use google talk... XD
     
  3. stubborn_sage

    stubborn_sage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do use google talk but i am also exploring to use ichat using my gmail account. is there a way for me to do this?
     
  4. Fidel

    Fidel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use iChat with my Gmail account. Go to the preferences menu and set it up under the accounts menu.
     
  5. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    yes you can use ichat for google talk
     
  6. teachertwish

    teachertwish Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    49
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Sta. Rosa
    Yup it's as easy as creating a new account (in Preferences), and choose "Google Talk". :)
     
  7. 180er

    180er New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about Yahoo Messenger?
     
  8. manolop10

    manolop10 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    qc
    I use iChat with my google talk account and it's really fun using iChat with other iChat users. Haha! Sayang wala lang YM.
     
  9. balian67

    balian67 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Singapore
    gmail and aol both can...no ym
     
    #9 balian67, May 11, 2008
    Last edited: May 11, 2008
  10. ricpac

    ricpac Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cagayan de Oro
    Yup, AIM and GTalk(Jabber) and no YM for now.

    iChat sure is fun! Now I need to test and try an iChat conference.
     
  11. teachertwish

    teachertwish Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    49
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Sta. Rosa
    There is a trick to get YM to work. It's as complicated as creating a jabber account, importing all your YM contacts to your jabber account, and creating an account in iChat for that Jabber account. I tried it, it works. It's difficult though when adding new contacts. :-S

    If you're really interested, here's a link to make YM work in your iChat. These are directions for making MSN work, but it works the same way with YM. As for that step wherein you have to change the YM addresses of your contacts adding the jabber domain to it, here is a script that you can run in "Script" c/o macosxhints.com.

    There are other links to help you out on this and other philmug threads which i can't find. I remember bumping into it once. :p

    Heard that you can't make your voice calls through iChat. :( Good luck!
     
    #11 teachertwish, May 11, 2008
    Last edited: May 11, 2008
  12. rafaelc378

    rafaelc378 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,464
    Likes Received:
    2
    Until iChat can natively support YM, I'm using the Adium client as my main one.
     
  13. stubborn_sage

    stubborn_sage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you're referring to the account type under preferences... all i can see are .mac, AIM and jabber options.. no google talk :(

    anyway, i also tried adding a jabber account using my gmail ad but i couldn't seem to log on.. it says 'could not connect to server gmail.com'.. i also noticed that ichat used a longer password instead of the default password which i inputted during account set up.

    im getting frustrated, help pls. thanks heaps!
     
  14. teachertwish

    teachertwish Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    49
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Sta. Rosa
    Hmmmm... I don't know how the "Google Talk Account" was included in my "Account Type", but yes, technically, you should be able to setup a Jabber account for google talk. See the settings below:

    [​IMG]

    Hope this helps. :)
     
    #14 teachertwish, May 12, 2008
    Last edited: May 12, 2008
  15. stubborn_sage

    stubborn_sage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it na. thanks for all the help! :)
     
  16. stubborn_sage

    stubborn_sage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    just another clarification...

    after i got ichat to work on my macbook... i noticed this HUGE lag when it comes to sending messages to a buddy who is on gtalk (this buddy is on windows). what's worse... some of my messages got through but some did not.

    is this normal? or is there a way to get around ichat's settings to solve this issue?
     
  17. rbenzon

    rbenzon Super
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,265
    Likes Received:
    3,782
    you can even use iChat for chikka, which will effectively allow us Mac users to send text messages from our Macs using iChat--free of charge! :D

    but then, that wouldn't answer your question, would it?
     
  18. kili-kili power

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you use google talk with ichat. can you use all the features of ichat? like the new and improved ones for leopard? altho i doubt it can do the screen sharing .... ok lang sana yung backgrounds
     
  19. Libra

    Libra Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I've been using iChat for googletalk and there has been no delays whatsoever (same case also my friends are on non-mac owners). What is your connection? Wifi or cable?
     
  20. stubborn_sage

    stubborn_sage Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    @rbenzon
    wow.. thanks for the info.. didn't know that. will try some other time. i am more consumed with this incompatibility issue with gtalk.

    @libra
    thanks for the feedback... on your Q, i'm on dsl.. does this really matter?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!