iBook keeps restoring to default every shutdown

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by sanction214, Sep 10, 2009.

1. sanction214

sanction214 Member

HELP with iBook keeps restoring to default every shutdown

Hi. I'm really new with Mac so i thought i'd use an iBook first just to get a feel of how a Mac behaves. All went well and I have this Mac-trouble just last night.

I plugged in the power adapter ( as i usually do if at home) after turning it on i was dumbfounded that "ALL" the customization that i placed from wallpaper, hot corners, alias, magnification on the dock, even iTunes! were utterly being set back to default! I almost banged my head on the keyboard..(I spend a lot of time on the iTunes editing)

So, I thought everything was wiped out of the harddrive...i immediately checked hard drive contents..luckily everything was there (basically pretty much what i need most is still there). I tried putting them back together and after a few hours of desperate futile attempt to restore the customization and adding songs back to iTunes. I finally plugged in my smartbro to connect to the net, and it showed that i need to re-install the smartbro application even if "smartbro application was already inside"... so being a newbie, i just re-installed it and after completely installing smartbro it prompted to restart. I clicked restart and AGAIN it restored to default!

I'm thinking if its software related or it's just that i'm techincally mac-challenged user or both... i'm thinking of sending iBook to the nearest APPLE CENTER...but will check this thread later if anybody can help me out on this mess..(one reason i got a mac coz of the helpful guys in this site)

Thanks Philmuggers!

#1 sanction214, Sep 10, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2009
  2. quasar

quasar Active Member