How to use Facebook Chat with iChat

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by talibatab, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. p.pipster

    p.pipster PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ontario
    Now, I have never really been a fan of Facebook because it is just annoying but almost everyone on Earth have an account. At least, this time, I've put my FB account and contacts to good use.

    I can finally use iChat over YM.
     
  2. wiretap_MD

    wiretap_MD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila / Bacolod
    Wow! Thanks for the tip!
     
  3. hungryalien

    hungryalien Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    san juan
    ayaw mag connect to chat.facebook.com
     
  4. jmtubera

    jmtubera Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Cabanatuan City. Current: Sampaloc, Mani
    I know this! :D it was very helpful cause it makes FB chat much more easier, Nakakainis kaya ung may ka chat ka, tapos biglang mag error. >.<
     
  5. zero.

    zero. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    55
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila; Philipsburg
    Cool tip! thanks dude.
     
  6. myke_415frisko

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine doesn't also connect to chat.facebook.com
     
  7. Jericho

    Jericho Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is cool, thanks for sharing...
     
  8. p.pipster

    p.pipster PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ontario
    Any error messages you are getting? Maybe we can help.
     
  9. antz

    antz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    it worked. thanks for the heads up. no need to open FB anymore and see all those farmville, fishville feeds.. :)
     
  10. myke_415frisko

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never mind.It works now.I just didn't setup my user name.Thanks though :)
     
  11. cool_assassin

    cool_assassin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pampanga and Caloocan
    This is great.. Thanks for the info!.
     
  12. michelledsbona

    michelledsbona Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paranaque, Philippines
    Sorry for being ignoramus but how do I get my FB username? Thanks!
     
  13. aaarrrnnn

    aaarrrnnn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Paranaque
    Its in the link provided. Go read it again.
     
  14. cool_assassin

    cool_assassin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pampanga and Caloocan
    If you haven't set up a unique username for your FB account/page, I think you can see it when you visit your FB profile.. It's somewhere within the URL, composed of numbers I think.. That would be your username.. I don't know if it'll work on this trick, but it's worth a try..
     
  15. michelledsbona

    michelledsbona Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paranaque, Philippines
    I can't log in. This is the message I get everytime I try to log in - iChat can't log in to chat.facebook.com because your login ID or password is incorrect. Help!

    Thanks, I got my username already. I did it going to Account settings but I can't log in. :(
     
  16. p.pipster

    p.pipster PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    414
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ontario
    It's easier if you do this: login to your facebook like you would normally. Then, open a tab using this URL http://www.facebook.com/sitetour/chat.php.

    On that page, click on the iChat icon to get instructions.
     
  17. michelledsbona

    michelledsbona Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paranaque, Philippines
    My FB contacts are all offline, duh?!
     
  18. numbdensity

    numbdensity Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant make it work wah
     
  19. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Been using this quite a while already. But I usually use Adium for Facebook, Gmail and YM so i can turn into invisible.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!