How to know if Leopard is running on 64bit

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by miggytanya, Jul 9, 2009.

  1. miggytanya

    miggytanya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys!

    I apologize if there is another thread like this but I can't seem to find it. Searching the net wasn't too successful either.

    Anyway, my question is how would I know if my version of Leopard is running on 64 bit? I'm still not very "familiar" with OS X. It was easy on windows to know as it appeared on system properties.

    Thanks for all the help!
     
  2. clcabatbat

    clcabatbat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    1
    wala po kasing 32 bit na leopard kaya siguradong 64 bit yan. iisang version lang ang leopard. windows lang naman ang naglalabas ng 32bit at 64 bit version, may ultimate, home at profesional edition pa hehehe
     
  3. suavecito

    suavecito PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,445
    Likes Received:
    525
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Elm Street
    IMO Leopard can run on both 32 or 64 bit machines.

    Now to answer the TS question, i think if your machine is Core 2 Duo or above, then Leopard is running in 64bit.
     
    #3 suavecito, Jul 9, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  4. raypin

    raypin PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    14,790
    Likes Received:
    8,006
    ahhh......you need more than 4 gb memory to take advantage of 64-bit architecture and for optimum performance, apps needs to be rewritten in 64 bit. Snow Leopard promises that. With most portables (macbooks/laptops) with less than 4 gb in memory, a 64 bit OS will not make it run any faster or better.

    As of now, very few applications exist that can take advantage of 64 bit computing. Even on the hardware side, very few applications exist that can take full advantage of multi-core, multi-gpu, multi-threading technogies. The building blocks are there but software companies have plenty of catching up to do before we, the consumers, benefit from 64 bit (be it hardware or software), in any meaningful or practical way.
     
    #4 raypin, Jul 9, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
  5. yoh_hectic

    yoh_hectic PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    701
    Why do you want to know if 64bit is running? Do you expect a better experience?
     
  6. miggytanya

    miggytanya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really. I just would like to know the inner workings of a machine I'm using. Plus, I'm planning to upgrade the memory to 4GB. I'm kinda hoping the OS X that came pre-installed with my 13" MBP is 64 bit. :cool:
     
  7. miggytanya

    miggytanya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    If this is right then that's great!

    Thanks! ;)
     
  8. miggytanya

    miggytanya Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the downside... the rest of the world hasn't catch up yet. hehe... ;)

    Thanks for the info sir.
     
  9. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Go to Activity Monitor: You will see applications if your running with it. Although I did not enable it.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. vinz420

    vinz420 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    System Profiler > Software

    You'll see it under 64-bit Kernels & Extensions.

    Yes obviously means you're running on 64-bit, no, well, obviously means you're not. To enable 64-bit, restart your Mac and hold the keys 6 and 4 simultaneously. To return to 32 bit, just hold 3 and 2. (On Snow Leopard, unsure if it works the same on Leopard)
     
  11. paparazzi

    paparazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    31
    There is a HUGE performance difference between SL's 32-bit kernel and its 64-bit kernel, at least in my experience. I've updated most of the apps I use so that they run on SL's 64-bit kernel with the exception of VMWare Fusion and Blackberry Desktop Manager which require the 32-bit kernel.
     
  12. natsgo

    natsgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Taguig City
    This is a common misconception - that running in 64-bit kernel mode will speed up all your apps.

    64-bit Kernel mode is different from 64-bit Applications.
    Even if you run in 64-bit kernel mode but your app is running in 32-bit mode, you will not notice any speed boost.
    Running in 32-bit kernel mode, you can still run 64-bit apps though and you will feel the improvement in speed -- IF your Mac supports it.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!