How to boot into 64-bit mode (Snow Leopard)

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by PARConline, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. PARConline

    PARConline Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East OfThe Metro
    Hi guys just want to share this tip on Snow Leopard I've read from the NET.

    How to boot into 64-bit mode

    By default, Snow Leopard boots into a 32-bit kernel, an odd proposition for an OS claiming to be 64-bit. But Apple defaulted to a 32-bit kernel for good reasons—

    • it keeps compatibility high with drivers and specialized software, which lowers hassles for users;
    • it keeps bad press away. Like bad breath, bad press makes a lasting first impression. Microsoft halitosis (also known as Windows) turned off a lot of users. (I think Microsoft should change the name, it’s a perfect fit!).
    • performance is still improved over Leopard.

    How to:

    Hold down the '6' and '4' keys when the Mac starts up (how long is not clear, do it before the Mac chongs, and for a short while thereafter). After starting up in 64-bit mode, check About This Mac…, click More Info, then click on Software. In 64-bit mode there will be a “yes” next to “64-bit Kernel and Extensions”.

    [​IMG]

    The speed is more noticeable. :)

    PARC
     
    #1 PARConline, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
  2. redticket

    redticket Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    From ZDNet
     
  3. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    mine doesn't boot into 64bit mode even if I edited the com.apple.Boot.plist already
     
  4. whipper25

    whipper25 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    1
    it will all depend on your machine as well. apparently machines before the Penryn MBPs (early 2008), are restricted (by apple) to boot into 64bit mode, even though they are capable.

    I have a MBP (Santa Rosa), which came out right before the Penryn MBPs, and checked if my machine was 64bit capable. It is. Tried to boot into 64bit mode. It won't.

    here
     
    #4 whipper25, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
  5. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Mine is even before the MBP Santa Rosa. So that is why
     
  6. jcsantamarina

    jcsantamarina Buzz Ambassador
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,422
    Likes Received:
    388
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mandaluyong (Sa gilid,di sa loob)
    Will this work for Macbook Unibody 2.4's?
    Thanks for any insight!
     
  7. alikishi

    alikishi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    why don't you try it?
     
  8. skinhead

    skinhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO, maybe with the upcoming updates (which i doubt) apple will enable 64bit kernel by default without a 6'4' key or plist hack..

    look here
     
  9. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    Sorry guys, but I don't quite see the importance of booting into 64-bit kernel YET.... As long as your apps are in 32-bit then there's little improvement to be seen. Honestly, unless you're programmer then being able to boot into 64-bit is just more for bragging right right now. (I'm just basing this on recent research and a class I was taking more than a year ago)

    I believe that Apple has it right by having just switching to 32-bit or 64-bit automatically depending on the application.
     
  10. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,996
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    tried it but my boot time went back to 1 minute (since SL update, my boot-up improved to 35 secs).
     
  11. Elx200001

    Elx200001 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    I don't think being in 64-bit helps the boot up time. I'm sorry if I seem to be a bit pushy about it but I do believe that most users should be worried that their computers don't boot into 64-bit for the time being.

    I guess what I'm trying to say is that enjoy your new os and just wait for the 64-bit applications to arrive. By the time 64-bit kernel booting becomes default, I think all of us should have new macs by then. :)
     
  12. ijingo

    ijingo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quezon City
    This might help.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. jcsantamarina

    jcsantamarina Buzz Ambassador
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,422
    Likes Received:
    388
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Mandaluyong (Sa gilid,di sa loob)
    Thanks for the help guys!
    Well, for now I'm running on 32bit kernel, but I'm still enjoying the speed and the new 10Gig space free! hehehe...
    - JC
     
  14. natsgo

    natsgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Taguig City
  15. trigo

    trigo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,624
    Likes Received:
    69
    the table does not include unibody 13"?
     
  16. skinhead

    skinhead Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    2,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes sadly its not included maybe because of the 9400M GPU. BUT if you wanna test 64bit take a look at this hack below to unlock your kernel to boot 64bit ;)

    Click Here or here

    p.s. IF YOUR MAC IS 32BIT EFI, the above hack wont work.
     
    #16 skinhead, Sep 9, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2009
  17. ginomatic

    ginomatic Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Pasig
  18. Hero33

    Hero33 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Makati
    so has anyone actually noticed the difference?

    I haven't yet.
     
  19. modsupremo

    modsupremo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    .nowhere
    Good times!

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!