HOW to backup mac apps DATA?

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by mr.wizard, Jun 24, 2006.

  1. mr.wizard

    mr.wizard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi...i was wondering if anyone can help me sort out some of my backing up procedures with MAC apps like adressbook, emails in mail app, bookmarks sa safari, contacts list sa adium, etc.
    actually, how do i go about it?

    this is just in case something happens to my mac, i can restore my data easier....
    or should i decide to reformat everything and install and fresh OS install.
    any help would be appreciated:)

    thanks!:)
     
  2. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    They're all located in the user Library folder.

    Macintosh HD/Users/username/Library (username is actually the Home folder)

    Just copy that Library folder in an external location and it's backed up.

    If you're backing up, why not just copy the entire Home folder. All your data is contained therein, unless you've been a naughty boy and saved your files outside of that home folder. That's all you need to backup completely. Everything else (i.e. the OS and Applications) can easily restored without backups.

    It's that simple.
     
    #2 elbert, Jun 24, 2006
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2006
  3. PatrickGaerlan

    PatrickGaerlan Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    5,363
    Likes Received:
    89
    I second elbertc's suggestion, just back up your entire home folder. All your data AND preferences should be in there. If anything does happen, all you have to do is reinstall the OS and apps then just re-copy your home folder and everything will be just as it was :)
     
  4. orj78

    orj78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    how large would that folder usually be if all i usually do is surf and bookmark, chat using adium, etc? would my iphoto files be updated, as well?
     
  5. Fidel

    Fidel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello orj78. I have a 40GB hard drive and I do pretty much the same things as you do. My iPhoto files are around 12GB.

    My home folder is around 2.75 GB.

    Hope this helps.... :)
     
  6. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    Select the Home folder by single clicking it. From the File menu, select Get Info (keyboard shortcut: Apple + i). That will tell you how large the folder is.
     
  7. mr.wizard

    mr.wizard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    so all my contact list in adium is also found in my home folder...

    hmmm, very simple indeed!
    kewl! thanks:)
     
  8. elbert

    elbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Manila
    Actually, your contact list is stored at the server, not in your computer. For example, if you login to Yahoo Messenger using a computer in an Internet cafe, you'll find all your contacts present. What you won't get though is the full name of the contact. That's what's stored in your computer.
     
  9. nox

    nox Guest

    if it may help, download the deja'vu freeware and get an external drive. you can select just the folders you want to back up. if the folder is less then 1 gig and you have access to a decent bandwidth, you can even sync it to free online storage sites like box.net or technically any remote storage that your mac can mount as a filesystem.

    hth.


    cheers!

    nox
     
  10. orj78

    orj78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    taking off from elbert's suggestion,,

    fids, i just checked my home folder. it's 1.66GB. my iphoto lib is a mere 1GB (been OC about storing extra files in my internal HD).

    nox, i verified the deja vu app download in softpedia, but it's not freeware. can you refer me to a site where i can download the deja vu freeware?
     
  11. mr.wizard

    mr.wizard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    dejavu works perfectly...trying out 3.3 beta3 now...works great:)
     
  12. tonito

    tonito Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
  13. mr.wizard

    mr.wizard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    which ones better...im kinda happy with dejavu...should i uninstall it and install backuplist+??
     
  14. tonito

    tonito Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    you can try both and see which works for you. no need to uninstall dejavu
     
  15. duncan

    duncan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    68
    am using backulist now coz its freeware. although i think dejavu has better features but shareware
     
  16. nox

    nox Guest

    funny, dejavu doesn't ask me to register? am using 3.1 tho. does the new one 3.3beta3 ask for one?

    thanks.
     
  17. chu

    chu Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried installing deja 3.3 beta and it is trialware, good for only 30 days then you have to purchase full license. Knowing I'm probably not going to buy it, I did not continue installing it.

    I'm currently using SuperDuper! its Universal, its shareware, you can do a full bootable backup which is free but to get to the advanced features you have to buy it. Overall, very nice though.

    http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/SuperDuperDescription.html
     
  18. loko__loko

    loko__loko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,176
    Likes Received:
    39
    currently we have 3 macs.. pbk, imac and another imac...

    how can i transfer my iphotos from pbk to imac?

    i tried copying the whole picture folder (data, modified and originals) and transfer to the imac but when i start up the iphoto of the imac, there's no picture or library appeared... although i can see the folders (data, modified and originals) inside my picture/iphoto folder

    can i transfer all my backup to another machine? from pbk to an external to imac?

    btw, all mac has different account names

    thanks
     
    #18 loko__loko, Jul 2, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2006
  19. quicksilver

    quicksilver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    @home @work @play
    press option while clicking on the iphoto icon. it will ask you which library you want to use.
     
  20. can i back it up using a cd dvd? my home folder is 30gb.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!