How do I make Quicksilver search all directories?

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by melissa01, Apr 26, 2008.

1. melissa01

melissa01 Member

Hi,

Can someone please tell me why Quicksilver is not searching all
    directories?

For example, if I see a file in a particular folder called Temp, when
    i try typing the file name in Quicksilver, it doesn't find the file. I
    tried this for a number of files.

I selected everything to be
    cataloged, so I don't know what the problem is.

The catalog is set to update every 10 minutes. I tried rescanning the
    catalog too before looking for the files using Quicksilver.

I'm a newbie to Quicksilver, so your help is really appreciated! :)

Thanks!

2. Primo

Primo Member

Hi melissa01. It's always a pleasure for me to see people trying Quicksilver out, believe me you will get hooked!

On to your question. The default catalog that Quicksilver scans are your Home, Documents and Desktop folders. The problem is the "depth" preference that Quicksilver scans your folders with. "Depth" refers to the subfolder level in your folder hierarchy.

A "depth of 1 for a source folder means that Quicksilver will only look for files and folders in that source folder, while a "depth" of 2 will let Quicksilver search the first subfolder in your folder hierarchy for files and folders, but not look into those folders for files and folders, just the folder name. Afterwards you'd have to "arrow" in to the folder to get a look inside it. You need a "depth" of 3 to have Quicksilver catalog the folder contents for you. The "depth" preference for the default file and folder scanner is 1 for your Home folder, 2 for your Documents folder and 1 for your Desktop folder. Unfortunately you cannot change these defaults. At least I haven't found a way to do it for myself. If you want Quicksilver to scan for a certain "depth" in your folder structure here is how to do this by defining a custom source: