Home Network Setup

Discussion in 'Networking, Telcos and ISPs' started by oj88, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. gaol

    gaol PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    498
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Loyola Heights, QC
    Thanks! I guess something like this will do:
    [​IMG]

    Ubiquiti EdgeRouter Lite

    I can plug the Globe line in one port, PLDT in the other and the third goes to my existing Asus wifi router, which will now just be a wifi Access Point and a switch via the 4 LAN ports to the rest of the network.

    Any advantage with getting something better or with more ports, like the EdgerouterX SFP, 6 port?
     
  2. lamski

    lamski PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    351
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    The EdgerouterX SFP would only make sense if you intend to connect it to switch using the SFP port. You can already plug a switch to the ER lite in case you need more ethernet connections.
    You can also check the models - the processor affects how many packets they can process per second. For home use, I don't think it would matter.

     
  3. ailes

    ailes Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pasig City
    another question..

    anyone who have 2 internet providers? how do you set it up with one hub or switch?
     
  4. ailes

    ailes Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pasig City
    Won't be using PoE devices..
     
  5. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,295
    Likes Received:
    869
    You'll need a router that can accept dual (or more) WAN connections.

    Still not enough info. Anyway, switches made by D-Link or TP-Link should be fine. Just get one that is at least gigabit and has sufficient number of ports for your requirement.

    I don't suppose you're passing VLAN traffic? Because if you do, you'll need a switch that can process them. The cheapest web-managed switch I've found is the 5-port TP-Link TL-SG105E.

    I'm using D-Link, TP-Link, Encore, and Cisco switches. I also have a couple of no-longer-in-use CDR-King 8-port gigabit switches from back in the day.
     
    potpot2 likes this.
  6. ailes

    ailes Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Pasig City
    What I meant was 2 computers used for WFH and 2 smart tv would be using LAN. Main purpose was to not compromise the bandwidth used by WFH computers. The rest of devices like mobile phones will be using WiFi.
     
  7. JMacalinao

    JMacalinao Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Manila
    So your requirement is that while all of your devices are in a single physical network (since you mentioned setting up using one switch), you want your 2 WFH computers to use one of your ISPs and then for the rest, use the other ISP... is that correct?

    As @oj88 mentioned, what you really need is a router that has at least dual-WAN capability. You have a couple of options, but whichever router you pick, you're most likely looking for dual-WAN with load balancing mode. You can then also "force" some devices to use a specific ISP based on the device's IP address.

    As for the switch, it doesn't really matter (as long as they're gigabit). If the dual-WAN router has enough ports and the devices are nearby, you probably don't even need one. Or if you have another WiFi router (with LAN ports) lying around, that's automatically a free switch. :D

    For the most basic setup, you could get an ASUS RT-AC68U for 6k (or if you're lucky, a second-hand one for 3k), then a cheap 8-port gigabit switch for 1k. Connect your two ISPs on the router's WAN port and a LAN port (let's say, LAN1). Connect the switch to the router via another LAN port. Connect everything (PCs, TVs, other WiFi routers/APs) to the remaining LAN ports. Enable dual-WAN, set to load balancing mode on the router. Set the ratio that heavily favors one ISP (let's say you want the WAN port to have most of the non WFH traffic). Set static DHCP leases for your two computers so their IP addresses won't change, then add them to the router's "dual-WAN routing rules" list, with each of them pointing to LAN1. You could also force other devices to use WAN so they completely avoid LAN1, that's up to you.
     
    #887 JMacalinao, Feb 11, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2021
  8. lamski

    lamski PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,721
    Likes Received:
    351
    Location:
    Makati, Philippines
    Had a weird experience today with my converge connection. I currently have converge and PLDT connected to my UDMP with converge as the primary WAN. Today, I noticed that PLDT is currently the active WAN. I checked the converge modem and everything looks okay. I disconnected the PLDT cable, swapped the ports around, restarted the UDMP, etc., but the UDMP could not get an internet connection. I finally turned on the converge modem's wireless lan and connected one of my machines to it. Whenever I tried to access a website, it redirected to a captive page. There was no internet connection. After a quick call to customer support, they did a little troubleshooting on their end and that fixed my connection issue.

    For a second there, I thought the UDMP was at fault.
     
  9. rabby

    rabby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    129
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    BGC Taguig
    Hey guys I am on the fence buying a new router. I currently have TP-Link AC1750.

    My Converge plan is just 45 Mbps and is shared across 7 computers plus more or less 10 mobile gadgets.

    My budget is in the range of Xiaomi AX3600. I am comparing it with the TP-Link AX50 (3000) but people are complaining of the heat (becomes very hot).

    Any recommendations or other brands I should consider?
     
  10. John cid 42

    John cid 42 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    i recently bought 3 pcs of tp link deco m5, need your help and opinions:
    1. my first mesh (which would be the main mesh) is near my modem/ router, so i connect it via ethernet to the pldt modem, is it ok to connect another device which is my pc desktop on that same mesh? cause deco m5 units have 2 ethernet slot.

    2. my 2nd mesh now is on my 2nd floor, i place it near my tv and ps 4, will my online games (less lags) improve if i connect via ethernet my ps 4 to my 2nd mesh? or just connect it just via wifi, since the ps 4 and mesh is just near each other?

    3. My 2nd mesh gets a signal on my 1st mesh but when i checked my signal strength on my 2nd mesh its only two bars, should i move closer my 2nd mesh to the 1st mesh in order to get the three bars? or two bars would be enough? take note my ps4 gets signal to my 2nd mesh... so if ever i would move it closer to the first mesh to get three bars the option of getting ethernet connection my ps4 will be removed.
     
  11. Ikon

    Ikon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    13
  12. potpot2

    potpot2 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,161
    Likes Received:
    296
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Malate
    i just bought the asus wifi 6 mesh router, ax mini xd4, and im enjoying it much more than my unifi setup
     
    Sunil_K likes this.
  13. Hero33

    Hero33 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Makati
    baliktad naman, I went from 2 asus Ax11000 routers to a UDM pro, unifi switch 24 port pro, 2 Wi-Fi 6 lites, a nano HD and in wall HD and appreciate the cohesive network and all around faster speed around the house.
     
    potpot2 likes this.
  14. legato

    legato Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    20
  15. pepspeps

    pepspeps Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    175
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    ::1
    ^ IMO, it's still expensive for the average juan.

    But at least they released this and hopefully the market will be saturated forcing the pricing to go down.
     
  16. King

    King PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    519
    Only the Mac Pro and the phased out iMac Pro had 10Gbps Ethernet built-in at default.

    I see it being found as a built-in default for iMacs and Mac minis in a decade's time.

    A decade from now I expect 1Gbps fiber to cost 3000/month and people will whine that it's still too slow.
     
  17. legato

    legato Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    20
    You can get a USB3.0/3.1 to 2.5, 5 or 10Gbps ethernet adapter.

    Right now, for IT enthusiast, even 5gbps "should" be enough. Which this switch supposedly supports.
    Of course in future it will still be slow :)

    You can now get a NAS with 5 or 10 gbps ethernet.
    Add 4-6 drives which theoretically can support about 320-480MB/s read/write

    Connect your computer via at least 5 Gbps and it will be as if you are connected to an internal drive.

    An "internal" drive that's 40-60TB in size. Thats a lot of MP3s or FLACs, or 4K videos.
     
  18. jologs

    jologs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    156
    When it comes to 10G, I generally prefer SFP+ to RJ45. It's more flexible and may be cheaper to deploy if you know what to look for and where to look.

    This is my 10G home setup:

    PLDT > Asus RT-AC88U > 1Gbps Ethernet > Mikrotik CRS305-1G-4S+IN > 10Gbps > 10G port 1: Synology DS1819+ (Intel X520-DA1 via FS 1m passive Direct Attach Copper (DAC); 10G port 2: PC 1 (Intel X520-DA1 via FS 3m passive DAC); 10G port 3: reserved; 10G port 4: PC 2 (Mellanox ConnectX-3 via FS 10Gbase-SR SFP+ transceiver modules/15m FS Multimode OM3 Duplex LC to LC Fiber Patch Cable)

    [​IMG]

    Getting surplus/used equipment like the network cards keeps the costs down and setting everything up was surprisingly easy. I steered clear of 10GBASE-T RJ45 switches/network cards as well as RJ45 SFP+ modules because they tend to be more expensive per 10G port, not to mention, they tend run hotter and consume more power.
     
    #898 jologs, Mar 23, 2021
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2021
    oj88, legato and Sunil_K like this.
  19. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,295
    Likes Received:
    869
    Nice. That's as future-proof as you can get for the home network.

    Even with around a hundred devices on my network, I haven't nearly started saturating my 1gbit links... yet, so it'll probably stay this way for the foreseeable future. I do transfer several GB of files to and from my server, but it doesn't happen too often enough to justify a jump to 10gbit.

    I have a Cisco switch that acts as my core switch. It holds everything together (Layer-3 VLAN routing) and I'll be remiss in my duty if I didn't prepare for the worst. Similar to your approach, I buy used enterprise equipment for their deployment flexibility and sometimes, cheaper price, if you know where and what to look out for. That said, I have an extra Cisco 3560G switch as a cold spare if ever the primary one kicks the bucket.
     
    jologs likes this.
  20. wingatu

    wingatu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    79
    pepspeps likes this.

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!