Home Network Setup

Discussion in 'Third party hardware, software and accessories' started by oj88, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    367
    This is my home network. Perks of being in the IT industry. :)

    In the center of it all is the Windows Home Server (WHS) 2011 where collectively, all our media content and PC backups are hosted. You can tell that we're passionate about media sharing. Actually, the need to share among family members from a single location started this. Previously, media was scattered among different PCs, NAS, and USB drives that it got to a point where managing and backing them up got painful. And as the only IT guy in the family, the burden to improve things fell on me.

    One of the 'services' I'd like to add in the future is IP Telephony. I'd also want to build a second server (test server) for simulation and training using virtual machines. And much later, when the cost of Layer-3 switches gets below P10k, VLAN segmentation.

    You're all welcome to share what you have set up, big or small.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. a9828

    a9828 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    16
    Haha galing nito for home. How much total gastos? You can make a sideline business doing this
     
  3. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    367
    All of the networking devices, NAS, server, and LAN cabling are mine. I've probably invested about 80k total. The hard disks in the server and NAS alone already comprises half of the cost at 37k. But if I start to include all the equipment I've already retired or decommissioned in the past decade, It'll probably add about 50% more.

    The ~80k estimate does NOT include any of the clients (Smart TV, HTPCs, WDTVs, desktop PC, PS3, IP Cams, iPads, laptops, etc.)

    It seems such a huge investment but if you consider that I built this thing in a span of several years, it's really not that big. Of course I couldn't possibly pay for the whole cost up-front.

    Sideline? Well, I already did a few jobs in the past. But a wife and two children later, I really wouldn't want to make it a regular thing. Even so, the PM button is just a click away. If all it takes is for me to type a response, it's free. ;)
     
  4. vgsison

    vgsison Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    27
    Galing oj88. My idol techy guy. Hehe
     
  5. Kiddomike

    Kiddomike Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Dominaria
    I thought mine was already complicated. LOL! :eek:

    I'm also starting to put all media files into one hard drive for file sharing between two MacBooks.


    My network:
    Airport Extreme with a Western Digital 4TB external hard drive
    Airport Express
    Airport Base Station
     
  6. Bravoexo

    Bravoexo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Gig-E everywhere via a Linksys 2500 8-port switch, Buffalo 8-port Gig-E switch, and the switch on a Buffalo Wifi-N router (wifi-N only and AP mode only), which serves 2x Bluray players, a Buffalo NAS, one iMac 27 mid 2011, a GTX680DCII SLI Triple Monitor PC, 2x XBOX 360s, 3x laptops, an ipad, an iphone4s, two CM Omega HDs, an HTC HD2, HTC Desire and my HTC One. DLink ADSL modem/router handles Internet and Routing. Total Costs: 2.8k for the Linksys, 1.2k for the Buffalo Switch, 5k IIRC for the Buffalo Wifi-N, 3k IIRC for the DLink ADSL/modem/router... and probably 1.5kish worth of Cat6 cabling and terminators DIY assembled. (13.5k-ish in all)
     
  7. natsgo

    natsgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Taguig City
    I have a simple setup:

    [​IMG]

    L-R : PLDT Zyxel P-660R ADSL Modem, Airport Extreme Dual-Band, WD Sharespace 4TB NAS(RAID5), WD MyBook 1TB (Share via Airport Extreme for Time Machine backups), Panasonic Link-2-Cell BT cordless phone, Omni AVR (UPS being serviced), HP LJ Pro - P1102 (shared via Airport Extreme)

    And of course the usual assortment of wifi enabled devices - iPads, iPhones, WDTV, MBP, MB, XBOX, Foscam IP cameras, etc. :)
     
  8. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    367
    ^ We all have to start small and gradually build up to address certain needs.

    We have a similar hole-in-the-wall 'datacenter' layout. Here's a somewhat dated pic. Although, the essentials are already there.
    [​IMG]

    Here's a tip:

    Put all of the bandwidth-intensive stuff on a wired LAN (ie. Cat 5e, 6 or 6a cabling). Along with using gigabit switches, a cabled network will be eons faster and virtually future-proof.

    It is important to note that WiFi will just get more crowded in the future. Equipment vendors will always come up with new and 'faster' WiFi standards (ie. 802.11ac), but the truth is, they're still essentially sharing the same 2.4GHz and/or 5GHz band, along with your older-standard WiFi equipment, microwave ovens, some cordless phones, Bluetooth, your neighbors' WiFi, and RC toys. You can't defy the physics of radio frequency interference (RFI). In spite of these, your wireless connection will still work, of course, but it will likely be nowhere near the xxx-mbps written on the spec-sheet. Nevertheless, wireless will still be perfectly fine for browsing, internet downloading and local non-HD video streaming in most cases... typical for tablets, laptops, and other WiFi mobile devices.

    To some, it may seem like I'm splitting hairs or think that it's overkill. So then, consider this: Nobody notices how slow a WiFi connection is until they try copying a 24GB Bluray file across their "state-of-the-art" wireless network. :D
     
  9. zoo101

    zoo101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Sikatuna Village, QC
    nice setup. i dont think my needs would ever reach this height. im still on WHS 2003; my old reliable server cant even run Vail :)
     
  10. ice

    ice PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,045
    Likes Received:
    702
    Location:
    Singapore
    My home set-up is simple... Airport Extreme with Hard Disk for Movies/TV Shows.

    Will be replacing the HD with my (extra) 16GB CF Card...

    I try to minimize available media files in the network since my media files are easily accessible in all our mobile devices... there's always children at home and I have to make sure they cannot access my violent :) films...
     
  11. 650h2

    650h2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    10
    pfsense server firewall which I use to limit bandwidth for other users as well as block known porn sites (kids in the house)

    elastix voip PBX server with ATCOM 610s IP Phones which I use to be able to make (and receive) in-house and local GMM calls from anywhere in the world through the internet

    Blue Iris server as NVR for a couple of Ubiquiti Aircam IP cams.

    first two servers are old PCs but the NVR packs some power to capture several 720p videos at the same time

    a cheap Encore access point capable of 4 SSIDs. Each of my kids have their own SSID which I can switch off at a given time of the night ( and whenever I wish as a "cruel" punishment for misbehaving and low grades )
     
  12. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    367
    ^ Have you considered server virtualization? Just saying because you mentioned that 2 out of 3 machines you have are old PCs. Older generation PCs may not be as power efficient as newer ones.

    In an experiment I did 3-4 years ago, I was surprised that my old Intel P4 @3.0GHz PC consumes as much power as a quad-core AMD Athlon II X4 630 @2.8GHz.

    I like the multiple SSID idea. Now, if only I can automate the scheduling of individual SSIDs using the existing APs I already own. I can probably write a script for that as my two Cisco APs have command-line interfaces. The TP-Link is going to be a challenge as it is web GUI only.
     
  13. natsgo

    natsgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Taguig City
    Why not just use MAC address or IP address filtering vs multiple SSIDs?
    Most routers support it along with scheduling.
     
  14. 650h2

    650h2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    10

    They are old core 2 duo which are ok power-wise, I of rid of power hungry CPUs long time ago P4 3.0 is really hot and power hungry.I will virtualize soon as the CPU utilization are less than 10% on both. The pfsense has VOIP software plug-in which I have not tried yet and maybe the better route for me.
     
  15. ste@lth

    ste@lth Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Down the road less taken...
    Mine is basically simple, i have smartbro as my access to the world, this is shared to 2 wintel laptops, an iphone, an S3, an ipad and a galaxy tab via the ever reliable 3 year old edimax wifi router, i have attached a globe visibility usb on the router as backup internet access, but the most important unit for me is the old wintel laptop that also acts as a security camera server, it records 3 infra red cams surrounding the house perimeter on every movement, all for somewhere around 15K.
     
  16. 650h2

    650h2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    10
    The Encore also has mac address filtering which I also implement against BYOD.
     
  17. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    367
    ^ You raise a valid point. It's simple and efficient. But IP address filtering won't work as I have DHCP enabled on everything but a few endpoints that stands to benefit from using a static IP.

    But after a bit of thought, I just realized that I really didn't want them to be totally cut off from the local network, like a MAC/IP filter or disabling their assigned SSID would. Their laptops still needs to see the WHS server so they can be automatically monitored and backed up. All I need is a way to control their access to the Internet.

    I think now that configuring multiple SSIDs will allow me better control. I can have each SSID assigned to a unique VLAN. I could then create a VLAN trunk between the main switch and the router. My desired end state would be that each VLAN will either have internet access, no internet access, or scheduled internet access (these I can do on the router as well).

    Dang! I think I got my work cut out for me. :D
     
  18. natsgo

    natsgo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Taguig City
    That's too much work. :)

    Even on DHCP, you can pair IP address to MAC address resulting in a static IP address setup without the hassles of configuring each device's tcp/ip settings.


    Here's a sample using my AEBS:

    [​IMG]

    My circa 2005 edimax dual wan router (http://www.edimax.com/au/produce_detail.php?pd_id=147&pl1_id=25&pl2_id=56) already had that feature with Internet access scheduling, site filtering, port filtering, etc.

    The clients will still have LAN access, only Internet/WAN access is cut off.

    VLANs are great though if you want to segregate traffic and/or create virtual subnets.
     
    #18 natsgo, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  19. Netskipper

    Netskipper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,162
    Likes Received:
    200
    Location:
    Tondo
    This is an interesting thread. Recently Ive gone and tried to upgrade the ancient IT system in our company. Its a lot less complicated than what you have laid out since I have very little actual experience with networks and not really a big budget but I will try to replicate some of the useful things you have already done.

    Thanks for sharing.
     
  20. oj88

    oj88 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    367
    Lol. It keeps me preoccupied. The day I run out of things to improve is the day I'll rip everything out and start all over. :D
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!