Help with Exe file

Discussion in 'Third party hardware, software and accessories' started by kleerups, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. kleerups

    kleerups Account Suspended
    ERASED FROM EXISTENCE

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So anyway, I have a flash game and it's in an EXEcutable file format. Is there a way an easy way play this in my mac? Thanks in advance. :confused:
     
  2. wildcard

    wildcard Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paranaque/Muntinlupa/Liliw, Laguna
    It depends, are you using and intel mac or a PPC mac?
     
  3. kleerups

    kleerups Account Suspended
    ERASED FROM EXISTENCE

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    intel i think.
     
  4. wildcard

    wildcard Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paranaque/Muntinlupa/Liliw, Laguna
    here you go

    Parallels Desktop

    [​IMG]
    Parallels Desktop require a Mac with an Intel processor. It is more convenient to use than Apple's Boot Camp as it does not require to restart your Mac every time you want to run a Windows application.
    You still need a copy of Microsoft Windows http://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=echoone-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00022PTRU and install it on a part of your hard disk. You also need to keep this part of your disk free of spyware, viruses. You can keep the Mac part of your disk separate from your Windows part, so nasty applications will not ruin your Mac data.
    Amazon: Parallels Desktophttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=echoone-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B000GHIV2Q Apple's Boot Camp

    [​IMG]
    The newest Macs have an Intel processor inside, and Apple has made it possible via BootCamp to install Windows XP in a part of your disk. With Boot Camp, you shut down your Mac and restart it as a real Windows PC which works at full speed. When you want to go back to Mac OS, you restart it again as a Mac. You still need to purchase a copy of Windows, install it and keep that corner of your hard disk free of virus, worms and spyware.
    BootCamp is a part of Apple Mac OS X Version 10.5 Leopardhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=echoone-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B000FK88JK which you may already have if you bought your Mac after October 26 2007.
    Amazon: Microsoft Windows XP Home Editionhttp://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=echoone-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00022PTRU
    VMWare's Fusion

    [​IMG]
    If you have a Mac with an Intel processor, VMWare Fusion will be an alternative to Parallels Desktop. They are already known for making virtual Windows environments on Windows, so Windows users can run different versions of Windows on the same PC.
    Amazon: VMware Fusion 2http://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=echoone-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B001F5VBRU
    You do need a copy of Microsoft Windows as well.http://www.assoc-amazon.com/e/ir?t=echoone-20&l=as2&o=1&a=B00022PTRU
    Crossover Mac

    [​IMG]
    Codeweavers have released CrossOver (Jan 10 2007) - another way to run Windows applications on Intel based Macs. The big advantage of their approach is that you do not need to buy and install Windows.
    The disadvantage is that it is not a 100% Windows replacement, but they have focused on the most common parts of Windows, and if an application only depend on those it should work. Their list of supported applications (and database!) give an impression of how much of Windows they support.
     
  5. kleerups

    kleerups Account Suspended
    ERASED FROM EXISTENCE

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks thanks! i'll look into them. i guess there's no quick, easy way. : \
     
  6. wildcard

    wildcard Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,902
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Paranaque/Muntinlupa/Liliw, Laguna
    unfortunately, none that I know of. Your lucky, running windows apps on PPC macs is a pain in the @$$
     
  7. chetiboy

    chetiboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    0
    exe files are for windows. and unfortunately there isn't an easy way to use them directly in mac.
     
  8. fcdiesta

    fcdiesta PhilMUG Addict Member
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,822
    Likes Received:
    677
    Unfortunately... but I like that fact, since most viruses and malwares are hidden and disguised as EXE files...
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!