help updating mac os x 10.5

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by kel_so27, Sep 17, 2009.

1. kel_so27

kel_so27 New Member

hi guys, ive recently tried updating my mac book, my os is ver. 10.4.11 ( i know ancient!) so i went to mac website and downloaded 10.5.8... finished it but couldnt install it.. im so clueless... im new to mac so if anyone could help me?

i dnt even know how to see if im using leaopard, tiger or whatever animal LOL...

thanks so much!

2. enshong

enshong Well-Known Member

You're using Tiger (10.4)
    You need to install Leopard (10.5) to install the 10.5.8 update. :)
    Maybe you should buy Snow Leopard (10.6) na lang. :D

3. j6l_hanopol

j6l_hanopol Active Member

Hi keL. You can't possible do that update, it's because your Mac Operating System is on Tiger Version which is from 10.4 to 10.4.11.

The next Mac Operating System after that Tiger version is 10.5 which is Mac OS X Leopard.

You need to have that Operating System first before updating to 10.5.8.

The New Mac OS X today, is actually version 10.6 which is Snow Leopard.

You can just buy this new Operating System to any Apple Authorized store provided that the specs of your mac is supported with this new operating system. Please check Apple website to learn more.

4. kel_so27

kel_so27 New Member

is it expensive?? =) is there any tutorial classes with regards to using mac? i just feel im not using my laptop at its fullest =?

5. j6l_hanopol

j6l_hanopol Active Member

Hi keL, I can actually teach you and help you something to know more about Macs. Kindly read your private message. I'll do this for free.. :)

6. chetiboy

chetiboy Active Member

you can get your own copy of Snow Leopard at a 1,690-pesos-ish price point. available at all local apple resellers.

7. kel_so27

kel_so27 New Member

oh, not bad... might just do that =) thanks guys!

8. LeoCastillo

LeoCastillo Maestro
    Staff Member