Help.. After installing win xp... Disk error dispaly

Discussion in 'MacBook Air, MacBook & MacBook Pro' started by doughn, Mar 14, 2009.

  1. doughn

    doughn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    after trying installing xp (i choose bootcamp partition , but it didnot install --install error)

    on my screen -- disk error, press any key to restart.

    i did push any button but nothing happen, so turn off forcely, then remove battery then turn in on again ... same message

    any clues... TIA
     
    #1 doughn, Mar 14, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2009
  2. Tecson

    Tecson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    X marks the spot
    reinstall the windows, go back to mac osX and repartition drive..try again, something must have gone wrong with your installation
     
  3. doughn

    doughn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant log in to OSX, after restarting and pulling out the battery still displaying: Disk error , push any key to restart. TIA
     
  4. mark_17

    mark_17 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    11
    i think your drive just crashed...
     
  5. j6l_hanopol

    j6l_hanopol Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati-Fairview-Mandaluyong
    Press&Hold the alt/option key after pressing the power button. Select your OS X partition. You should now be Log on to your OS X partition.

    Repartition your drive with Boot Camp or the disk utility. Try to use another XP Licensed installer, the disc might be the cause of error installation.

    Same thing happens to me before then I use another Windows OS dvd/cd installer, after that a fine installation process for my Windows partition.
     
    #5 j6l_hanopol, Mar 15, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2009
  6. doughn

    doughn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    now it is showing : No Bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key....


    did i loose all the data?
     
  7. j6l_hanopol

    j6l_hanopol Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati-Fairview-Mandaluyong
    Did you try what did I just said?
     
  8. doughn

    doughn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    0

    it WORKED!! thanks a lot.... whew... i thought i lost all my data

    more power and mabuhay po kayo

    -doughn
     
  9. j6l_hanopol

    j6l_hanopol Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati-Fairview-Mandaluyong
    Alright no prob.
     
  10. doughn

    doughn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    0

    NO more windows for me... Thanks Again Sir!
     
  11. Tecson

    Tecson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    X marks the spot
    @ doughn,

    J6Lhanopol i right, yuo just set bootcamp as a start up OS, you can change it to OSX under sys prep - start up disk, do change another XP copy, use legit btw.

    dont be discourage by it, our mac as the potential to carry both Oses, you can give it a try when ur ready..its the reason i switch to mac...:)
     
  12. doughn

    doughn Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    0

    hehhe... thanks
     
  13. imperialv

    imperialv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Makati
    I had the same problem... In OS X, i forgot where it is placed, the start up should be in OS X..

    Regarding your problem in Windows, you forgot one step, you need to reformat the boot camp partition either in fat or ntfs.. If you choose fat, maximum is 32gb and you can access your files via OS x.
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!