Google Chrome (Chromium) runs in OS X

Discussion in 'OS X and OS X Apps' started by Primo, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. Primo

    Primo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Codeweavers the makers of CrossOver (A commercial version of WINE), have ported Google Chrome's open source version Chromium into a form usable in OS X. I was curious, and Google's spanking new web browser was Windows only until now. What was all the hype about?

    It work's pretty well, but the initial startup on a relatively new Macbook Pro took about 5 minutes or so. Subsequent start up was much, much faster. I haven't the chance to play with it at all in depth. If anyone else wants to give it a go in OS X please chime in! I'm especially piqued in regards to its offline feature for GoogleApps. I'll give it a go later this morning...

    Ah the link. Cheers.
     
  2. j6l_hanopol

    j6l_hanopol Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati-Fairview-Mandaluyong
    It doesn't work well, it loads *4ever* the spinning icon keeps on rolling.. hmmm,,, I'll try it again, maybe tomorrow and lets see its performance compared to other browser..
     
  3. Mad Mac

    Mad Mac Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    8,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    To be honest I really can't tell the difference between browsers as far as loading typical web pages. They may have specific features that are amusing but really, I don't feel the technological advantage of one over the other. Oh the only time I choose is when one cr_ps out and teh other doesn't.
     
    #3 Mad Mac, Sep 17, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  4. b3nn3tt

    b3nn3tt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'll try this out. my company laptop is still in windows 2000, and it's not yet available for mac. my colleague installed it on his vista laptop and it was extremely fast. it was like the sites were already in your cache
     
  5. b3nn3tt

    b3nn3tt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    same here. speed looks the same. i was hoping to have the same speed i saw on my colleagues vista. i think i'll just wait for the official one from google. i'll stay in ff3 for now.

    chromium is too sensitive with the trackpad. i just scroll down a bit and it jumps to the end of the page.
     
    #5 b3nn3tt, Sep 18, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2008

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!