Globe VoLTE & VoWIFI

Discussion in 'Globe Telecom' started by denpacs, May 13, 2020.

  1. neilrg

    neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    474
    Yes, they both work on eSIM.
     
  2. mandee

    mandee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Juan
    Try turning off VOLTE when connected to wifi. There you will have stable globe VoWifi
     
  3. Chellyyy

    Chellyyy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taguig
    thanks! Will try this and monitor my vowifi
     
  4. neilrg

    neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    474
    It's best to keep both VoLTE and WiFi Calling enabled at the same time. The two are complementary and are designed to be used together. If both services are enabled, your phone can take advantage of seamless handover or offloading of cellular calls from VoLTE to VoWiFi when moving into a WiFi range (e.g. when arriving at home or office) and vice versa when you move out of range of a WiFi connection (e.g. when leaving home or office). With VoLTE and VoWiFi handover, calls would continue even when your phone switches connection or let's say when your home WiFi suddenly goes out. (y)
     
  5. blueberry

    blueberry New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taguig
    also did this. Our house is deadspot for globe signal and nawawala wala din si vowifi. Mas naging stable nga ang vowifi when volte is off. Siguro dahil nga pag nadadagdagan ung lte signal is parang un ang nagiging preferred na to use for call and text. Since most of the time is nasa bahay ako ngaun, i will have volte off muna. Then just turn it on pag madalas na ko lumalabas to take advantage of both when switchinng connections.
     
  6. warped

    warped Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    19
    Anyone having issues with globe messenger support? About to give up. For some reason they keep saying the account info don’t match their system. Anyway, was able to get info that my account has been provisioned for volte and not for vowifi. That’s the start of this whole verification run around I’m experiencing. They need to validate my acct info before they can proceed with vowifi provisioning.
     
  7. mandee

    mandee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Juan
    Once your VOLTE activated, automatically your VOWIFI will also activated. No need for separate request
     
  8. warped

    warped Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yup that was my argument. But the rep seems to have no idea. I just gave up.
     
  9. msgt16

    msgt16 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Quezon City
    Can’t activate VoWiFi but VoLTE is working fine. Much better is the former is working since our area has poor Globe signal.
     
  10. quicksilver

    quicksilver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    @home @work @play
    Was able to activate VoLTE and VoWIFI via FB messenger. It takes a while, but they do reply. I requested for activation yesterday afternoon, and the service was activated a little after 8am this morning.
     
  11. garyboi84

    garyboi84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cainta, Rizal
    For those that had their VoLTE/VoWiFi activated, may I know what iPhone models were you using? I’m using an iPhone 12 & the VoLTE & VoWiFi settings are already available on my phone, so it’s just a matter of provisioning my postpaid account to allow the service.

    Globe CS via FB Messenger explained that iPhone 12 is not provisioned for such despite the setting availability. My Smart Prepaid on the same phone actually have both VoLTE & VoWiFi working so I don’t think it’s a phone issue, unless there’s another reason why it can’t work on my iPhone 12 for Globe.
     
  12. neilrg

    neilrg PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    474
    Their cs reps follow their published FAQs down to the letter. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Just tell them you’re using an iPhone 11 the next time you request for activation.
     
    garyboi84 likes this.
  13. garyboi84

    garyboi84 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cainta, Rizal
    I also thought about it that I'm using an older iPhone model just to have the service enabled. :)
     
  14. Jennico

    Jennico New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manila
    I have received a confirmation that my VoLTE is now working. Tried making and receiving a call and it works. Hindi na sya bumabagsak sa 3G. I just find it weird na walang icon for VoLTE pero may icon for active Call Forwarding

    132F643A-C61E-4637-815F-86D64C726EBB.jpeg

    Tried deactivating it pero the settings to deactivate call forwarding seems to be not working as well. Umiikot lang sya ng umiikot

    3F3EF9F8-16A4-454B-984C-23074C6367DF.jpeg

    Didn't set it up. Nagulat na lang ako when that icon appeared right before I received a message na my VoLTE is now activated.

    Also, hindi nagwo-work ang VoWIFI.

    Tried checking yung IMS settings, pero wala akong makita.

    Help please
     
  15. dacci

    dacci Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    I can confirm this as well. After 5 days with VoLTE and VoWiFi, VoLTE seems to be the preferred method of iPhones rather than VoWiFi if your on a VoLTE area. Try playing with the settings on your free time. VoWiFi appears whenever the phone uses EDGE, 3G, and non VoLTE antennas. I don’t recommend too turning of VoLTE as this is needed for handovers.
     
  16. warped

    warped Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    19
    The implementation seems to vary on the telco. I have a Smart line, prepaid even, and it’s on VoWIFI as soon as it’s connected to a wifi network. While vowifi on my globe postpaid line up to now don’t seem to work. I had like 6 tickets with them reporting the issue and yet it’s just being closed without any resolution.
     
  17. prof_er

    prof_er Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    124
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Angeles City, Pampanga
    I think SMART telecom is very efficient in implementing VoWifi and VoLte.. Medyo nahuli lang sila sa esim. But hey did you guys know that you can link your Smart Mobile number to your apple id as mode of payment whenever you buy apps in the appstore? Currently we cant do that on Globe. Haist..
     
  18. blueberry

    blueberry New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taguig
    was in bgc kanina. And noticed di working ang vowifi ko sa office. Though not a problem naman for me since i need vowifi sa bahay talaga kasi poor signal ang globe samin. same city lang ang home and office ko.
     
  19. Jennico

    Jennico New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Manila
    My VoLTE is now working but not VoWiFi.. its pretty useless since we have spotty coverage here at home and LTE is not something that can be considered as a reliable connections, at least for us at home - that's why I am really more into the VoWiFi.

    After countless attempts to go through Globe's stupid CS platforms, Messenger and Twitter (which I find to be very USELESS and can't be considered as customer service), and opening cases using the Globe One app (which were all CLOSED for no apparent reason why and without any resolution), I was left with VoWiFi that is still not working.

    How can I get hold of customer service to discuss my concern? Cause clearly their channels are plain useless It is disgusting how they treat their customers
     
    #199 Jennico, Dec 10, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2020
  20. mandee

    mandee New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Juan
    May I know what phone you are using?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!