Globe eSIM Available End of 2018

Discussion in 'Globe Telecom' started by neilrg, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. shootertwist

    shootertwist PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    658
    ^yung akin sir naayos na nung Nov 2, though magkaiba ata tayo ng case kasi yung sa kin apparently the globe store (my preferred pickup branch) tagged my device as pending when in fact it should have been released na kasi i attended the midnight launch... good thing the one at platinum hotline looked at my account and what was causing the “pending” status... nagtaka din nga sya kasi wala naman prob sa account bakit may pending thingy... she contacted the specific globe store to fix the pending status and yun i was able to get an e-sim na... nung pumunta ako sa globe store and yun they just checked the account and in 5mins was out already i was issued a new qr code... kung napaaga sana na natapat ako sa globe rep na yun who really took time to check my account hindi sana ako na hassle... i was only turned over to platinum kse I’m trying to upgrade kasi ung plan ko
     
  2. mongkee

    mongkee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    455
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manila
    Quick question... is the Globe e-SIM for postpaid subscribers only? Or do they offer e-SIM for prepaid subs as well?

    I'm thinking of just getting a prepaid line but the only vacancy my phone has is an e-SIM slot. Since this Globe number will just be secondary, I don't wanna get a postpaid line for it.
     
  3. wattleferdz

    wattleferdz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Quezon City
    I believe esim is exclusively for post paid lines.
     
  4. johnyasis

    johnyasis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cebu

    Sell your Globe locked phone then buy an unlocked HK version. Thats what i did plus i didnt have to pay extra. Now i can utilize both sims and pay in installment since it’s charged to my plan :)
     
  5. Dgame12345

    Dgame12345 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    24
    I try calling the globe hotline regarding the unlocking of globe iphones... its true that after your contract expire globe can unlock the globe exclusive but they told me they can only unlock for call and text but for data usage its still lock to globe... is that true?
     
  6. potpot2

    potpot2 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,045
    Likes Received:
    263
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Malate
    I think the person you talked to dont know what he’s/she’s saying
     
  7. Dgame12345

    Dgame12345 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    24
    So it means when they unlock the phone i could use any other network and use for call text and even for data?
     
    jhonas015 and potpot2 like this.
  8. yammie

    yammie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes, your phone is no longer locked with Globe.
     
  9. zagu

    zagu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    115
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Makati,
    just wondering has anyone tried esim but not from globe? i see esims being used for europe or china. Has anyone tried?
     
  10. wicked271

    wicked271 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Bacolod
    Hi. I’ve been thinking of getting an e-sim for my iPhone from Globe but have been hesitant. Just a few questions I hope someone can answer:

    1. Has anyone tried to transfer e-sim to a new phone? How easy is it?

    2. How is the Data compared to regular sim? Is there a difference in speed?

    3. Any problems with lost connections or call drops?

    thanks!
     
  11. unknowngreats

    unknowngreats Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    1. Has anyone tried to transfer e-sim to a new phone? How easy is it?
    Globe-issued e-SIMs are device-lock, meaning the QR code can only be used and activated on the device it is registered to. in the event that you accidentally deleted or have reset the phone, you can, however, rescan the QR code to register the profile to that same device.

    2. How is the Data compared to regular sim? Is there a difference in speed?
    i personally don’t experience a change or difference.

    3. Any problems with lost connections or call drops?
    again, i personally don’t see a difference compared to physical nano sims.

    my own personal experience with the use of e-sim may be different from those of others. ☕️
     
  12. Hero33

    Hero33 PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Makati
    Got a globe e sim bar code last year for my xs max.

    will be moving to a pro max. Has anyone tried using the old bar code to transfer e Sims ?
     
  13. prof_er

    prof_er Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Angeles City, Pampanga
    you need to get a new code. As per my experience, old QR code will not work on your new device. This is such a hassle since QR code is suppose to work like physical sim wherein you can just simply pop your sim to your new or other devices to work. Talking about technology eh! Hahaha
     
    Theus likes this.
  14. Theus

    Theus PhilMUG Addict Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,673
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Antipolo / Las Pinas
    Yup you need a new QR code for a new phone. Hassle, especially in my case when apple had to replace my defective iPhone Xs. 3 weeks I didn’t have my e-sim & iPhone . Perfect excuse to getting my iPhone 11 Pro though :whistle:
     
  15. bowser

    bowser Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    SoCal
    Did you remove the cellular plan from your old device before using the QR code on your new device?
     
  16. prof_er

    prof_er Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Angeles City, Pampanga
    yes. I tried that. Even resetting and erasing all contents from my xs max. But no avail.
     
  17. wicked271

    wicked271 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Bacolod
    Thank you. Once you have e-sim, will it be easy to go back to physical sim if there's a problem with the e-sim?


     
  18. unknowngreats

    unknowngreats Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    you just go to the neareast GBC and request a change back to physical nano and they should provide you with one. ☕️
     
  19. neilrg

    neilrg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    289
    Has anyone tried activating/linking a blank eSIM through the hotline? Globe gave me one when I got my new phone from them but it’s not linked to my account yet.
     
  20. argonautjay

    argonautjay Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South
    Hope someone can shed light... What happens to the esim signal if we go to a country where there is no esim support? For example if we go to Cambodia? Do we still get a phone signal even if the country’s telco doesn’t offer e-sim support? Or do we ask Globe for a physical sim before traveling?
     

Share This Page

  • About PhilMUG

    Since the mid-1990s, PhilMUG (formerly the Philippine Macintosh Users Group) has grown to become not just the Philippines’ but one of the world’s foremost Apple user groups. Our online community brings together thousands of members from the Philippines and around the world for the latest news and discussions covering all Apple products and related hardware and software. Anyone can join PhilMUG, from newbies to experts, subject to our membership rules and guidelines.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Buy us a beer!

    The staff works very hard to make sure that PhilMUG is running 24/7. Care to buy us a beer or help out with our hosting fees? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!